Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

XBOX 360 backwards compatibility question???

Xbox

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
10 replies to this topic

#1 of 11 Xenia Stathakopoulou

Xenia Stathakopoulou

    Screenwriter

  • 2,417 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 25 2003

Posted December 31 2008 - 09:41 AM

Ok,Im a newbie to the 360 console .Planning to get one next month.My question is , is an x box 20 gb hdd required for the backwards compatibility on old xbox games, and is it included when buying the system????
At last my body is reunited with my soul which was always feminine.

#2 of 11 Edwin-S

Edwin-S

    Producer

  • 5,561 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 20 2000

Posted December 31 2008 - 12:13 PM

I believe the Pro model comes with a 60 GB hard drive and the Elite model has a 120 GB drive. See the following FAQ link for info.

Xbox.com | Xbox 360 - Backward Compatibility FAQ

The info is old but I'm sure it still applies. Basically, updates are periodically provided that allow older XBOX games to play on the 360, so a hard drive is required. There is a link to a list of compatible XBOX games on the page that I have linked to.
"You bring a horse for me?" "Looks like......looks like we're shy of one horse." "No.......You brought two too many."

#3 of 11 Xenia Stathakopoulou

Xenia Stathakopoulou

    Screenwriter

  • 2,417 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 25 2003

Posted December 31 2008 - 12:24 PM

Thanks for the info.So,all I need is the hard drive connected to the xbox 360 and the games will play??? Or, do I need to install something from the internet which I dread ????
At last my body is reunited with my soul which was always feminine.

#4 of 11 Edwin-S

Edwin-S

    Producer

  • 5,561 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 20 2000

Posted January 01 2009 - 06:13 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Zannikos
Thanks for the info.So,all I need is the hard drive connected to the xbox 360 and the games will play??? Or, do I need to install something from the internet which I dread ????

You need to install an update that allows older XBOX games to play. You can do this by downloading the update directly from the internet or downloading an image file and then burning a disc. Another way of doing it is to order an update CD from XBOX.com. The details are under "how to play XBOX games on the 360" at the link I provided.
"You bring a horse for me?" "Looks like......looks like we're shy of one horse." "No.......You brought two too many."

#5 of 11 Xenia Stathakopoulou

Xenia Stathakopoulou

    Screenwriter

  • 2,417 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 25 2003

Posted January 01 2009 - 07:43 AM

Thanks Edwin, you were very helpful.There are rumours going around that current xbox 360 bundles include that application on a cd.I would prefer that actually, since I can never get any downloaded application to come out right for anything, lol.
At last my body is reunited with my soul which was always feminine.

#6 of 11 Morgan Jolley

Morgan Jolley

    Lead Actor

  • 8,107 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 16 2000

Posted January 02 2009 - 05:10 PM

Usually, when you buy a new game (for Wii, PS3, or 360) the latest firmware version for the console is on the disc. This way, if a game uses a newer feature for the console then you can still get the update.

You don't need an XBox Live account to connect to the internet with a 360 and get the firmware updates. It should be noted, however, that not all Xbox games will play on a 360 since the backwards compatibility is on a game-by-game basis as MS updates the 360.

#7 of 11 Xenia Stathakopoulou

Xenia Stathakopoulou

    Screenwriter

  • 2,417 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 25 2003

Posted January 05 2009 - 11:47 PM

Instead of opening a new thread, ill just ask this question here.Ive just ordered the xbox 360 package that comes with a 60 gb hdd. Does this come with any xbox360 live points in the package , or do I have to buy that ??? Because, I really want to downlad some of those old arcade games !!!
At last my body is reunited with my soul which was always feminine.

#8 of 11 Prentice Cotham

Prentice Cotham

    Supporting Actor

  • 769 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969

Posted January 06 2009 - 01:49 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Zannikos
Instead of opening a new thread, ill just ask this question here.Ive just ordered the xbox 360 package that comes with a 60 gb hdd. Does this come with any xbox360 live points in the package , or do I have to buy that ??? Because, I really want to downlad some of those old arcade games !!!


No points come w/ the systems.
Xbox Gamertag: badlieut

#9 of 11 Morgan Jolley

Morgan Jolley

    Lead Actor

  • 8,107 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 16 2000

Posted January 08 2009 - 04:27 PM

If you have a credit card you can use that to download games.

#10 of 11 Xenia Stathakopoulou

Xenia Stathakopoulou

    Screenwriter

  • 2,417 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 25 2003

Posted January 21 2009 - 08:53 PM

I finally got my console yesterday.When I play old xbox games on the 360, it makes some slight noise, is this normal???? I ask because when I play regular 360 games it doesnt do this noise at all.
At last my body is reunited with my soul which was always feminine.

#11 of 11 Jari K

Jari K

    Producer

  • 3,172 posts
  • Join Date: May 16 2007

Posted January 27 2009 - 08:41 PM

At least "Halo 1" worked just fine with my 360 Elite. Obviously I have the latest firmware and all that (I keep my consoles "up-to-date").





Forum Nav Content I Follow