-

Photo
- - - - -

Sony Recievers?***

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
10 replies to this topic

#1 of 11 OFFLINE   funkdoktor

funkdoktor

Agent

• 35 posts

Posted December 30 2008 - 11:04 PM

Decently priced. seems to have ok features. why is it not more popular within the home theater community?

im still a newbie so school me if need be.

thanks and aloha.Posted Image

#2 of 11 OFFLINE   Jeff Gatie

Jeff Gatie

Lead Actor

• 6,530 posts

Posted December 31 2008 - 12:48 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by funkdoktor
Decently priced. seems to have ok features. why is it not more popular within the home theater community?

im still a newbie so school me if need be.

thanks and aloha.Posted Image

Seriously overrated specs and aside from the ES line, not really much quality for the dollar compared to say . . . Onkyo.

#3 of 11 OFFLINE   funkdoktor

funkdoktor

Agent

• 35 posts

Posted December 31 2008 - 08:43 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Gatie
Seriously overrated specs and aside from the ES line, not really much quality for the dollar compared to say . . . Onkyo.

haha much like their car audio products.

thanks for your input Jeff.

#4 of 11 OFFLINE   David Judah

David Judah

Screenwriter

• 1,479 posts

Posted December 31 2008 - 02:12 PM

I've wondered why the Sony receivers don't get more love, as well. I always hear, as Jeff said, that unless it's an ES, don't bother, yet the higher strdg models seem to be very similar to the lower end ES models--on paper, anyways.

I don't have much experience with them, but I was thinking about getting the 920 for my kids. They have a Sony LCD & blu-ray, and I thought it would be convenient for them to have a Sony receiver so they could use the bravia theater sync. Also, I like the video processing in the Sony flat panels, so I would think that expertise would carry over to the video processing in their receivers too.