Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

N Wireless Router with 5ghz?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
15 replies to this topic

#1 of 16 OFFLINE   Johnny Angell

Johnny Angell

    Producer



  • 5,338 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 13 1998
  • Real Name:Johnny Angell
  • LocationCentral Arkansas

Posted August 17 2008 - 05:43 AM

I need a recommendation for a router that supports 5ghz. While the Dell Inspiron we have is only 811g at the moment, we'd like to up the connection speed with a new adapter and router. Since my current wireless router (Linksys WRTP54G) is becoming unreliable, this seems like a good time to upgrade. From what I've read 5ghz gets you away from other devices that use the 2.4ghz band and produced a more reliable connection.

It would be nice if it supported 5ghz and 2.4ghz at the same time.

My desktop will be hardwired to the router (Dell XPS with Vista) and my wife's laptop (Inspiron running XP Pro) will be wireless.

Recommendations now being acceptedPosted Image
Johnny
www.teamfurr.org
But a family cat is not replaceable like a wornout coat or a set of tires. Each new kitten becomes its own cat, and none is repeated. I am four cats old, measuring out my life in friends that have succeeded but not replaced one another.--Irving Townsend


#2 of 16 OFFLINE   Johnny Angell

Johnny Angell

    Producer



  • 5,338 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 13 1998
  • Real Name:Johnny Angell
  • LocationCentral Arkansas

Posted August 21 2008 - 02:36 AM

What happened? There were several replies to this thread and now they're all gone.
Johnny
www.teamfurr.org
But a family cat is not replaceable like a wornout coat or a set of tires. Each new kitten becomes its own cat, and none is repeated. I am four cats old, measuring out my life in friends that have succeeded but not replaced one another.--Irving Townsend


#3 of 16 OFFLINE   Parker Clack

Parker Clack

    Executive Producer



  • 12,120 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 30 1997
  • Real Name:Parker
  • LocationKansas City, MO

Posted August 21 2008 - 03:25 PM

Johnny:

Linksys has got some new N routers that do both 2.4 and 5G and will handle N thru B with high level of encryption for your wireless routers. I would also get new wireless N adapters.

I have the WRT150N with WUSB600N adapters on my HTPCs, my wife's laptop and my daughters PC in her room. It works great with excellent transfer rates and has PSK-Personal, PSK2-Personal, PSK-Enterprise, PSK2-
Enterprise, RADIUS, or WEP encryption. It is only 2.4G but works well with all my gear.

"I tried to get my medical records from the company but they say they

are confidential and can only be released to other insurance companies,

pharmaceutical​ reps, suppliers of medical equipment and for some

reason the RNC."
 


#4 of 16 OFFLINE   Johnny Angell

Johnny Angell

    Producer



  • 5,338 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 13 1998
  • Real Name:Johnny Angell
  • LocationCentral Arkansas

Posted August 21 2008 - 04:30 PM

Thanks Parker. In the interim, I've ordered the Dlink DIR655. It was getting consistently high praise, though it doesn't do 5G. It is in my budget range, though.

It seemed to me that any 5G router under $200 were getting a lot of bad user reviews.
Johnny
www.teamfurr.org
But a family cat is not replaceable like a wornout coat or a set of tires. Each new kitten becomes its own cat, and none is repeated. I am four cats old, measuring out my life in friends that have succeeded but not replaced one another.--Irving Townsend


#5 of 16 OFFLINE   Parker Clack

Parker Clack

    Executive Producer



  • 12,120 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 30 1997
  • Real Name:Parker
  • LocationKansas City, MO

Posted August 22 2008 - 03:53 PM

Mine is at 2.4G and I don't have any slow downs that I can tell. The USB adapters work great. I picked up a couple Dynex models at Best Buy for little money and they come with a nice stand so you don't have to have a adapter sticking out the back or front of your PC.

"I tried to get my medical records from the company but they say they

are confidential and can only be released to other insurance companies,

pharmaceutical​ reps, suppliers of medical equipment and for some

reason the RNC."
 


#6 of 16 OFFLINE   DavidJ

DavidJ

    Screenwriter



  • 2,593 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 23 2001
  • Real Name:David

Posted August 22 2008 - 04:45 PM

Johnny, I recently ordered the same router and should be receiving it next week. After doing a good bit of research, it seemed to be a solid performer at an acceptable price point. I guess we'll know soon enough

#7 of 16 OFFLINE   Johnny Angell

Johnny Angell

    Producer



  • 5,338 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 13 1998
  • Real Name:Johnny Angell
  • LocationCentral Arkansas

Posted August 23 2008 - 05:40 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Parker Clack
Mine is at 2.4G and I don't have any slow downs that I can tell. The USB adapters work great. I picked up a couple Dynex models at Best Buy for little money and they come with a nice stand so you don't have to have a adapter sticking out the back or front of your PC.
Earlier you said you were using WUSB600N adapters which are Linksys but now you mention using Dynex USB adapters. Are you using both Linksys and Dynex adapters?
Johnny
www.teamfurr.org
But a family cat is not replaceable like a wornout coat or a set of tires. Each new kitten becomes its own cat, and none is repeated. I am four cats old, measuring out my life in friends that have succeeded but not replaced one another.--Irving Townsend


#8 of 16 OFFLINE   Johnny Angell

Johnny Angell

    Producer



  • 5,338 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 13 1998
  • Real Name:Johnny Angell
  • LocationCentral Arkansas

Posted August 26 2008 - 07:27 AM

I've got the router, and so far, so good. My PC is hard-wired to the router, so that's pretty much the same. And since my wife's pc is G, she's not taking advantage of the N speed, so that's pretty much the same.

Hey Parker, would you expand on which adapters your are using? You mentioned you are using Dynex USB adapters that were cheap but worked well. Are the N rated?
Johnny
www.teamfurr.org
But a family cat is not replaceable like a wornout coat or a set of tires. Each new kitten becomes its own cat, and none is repeated. I am four cats old, measuring out my life in friends that have succeeded but not replaced one another.--Irving Townsend


#9 of 16 OFFLINE   Johnny Angell

Johnny Angell

    Producer



  • 5,338 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 13 1998
  • Real Name:Johnny Angell
  • LocationCentral Arkansas

Posted September 05 2008 - 06:36 AM

The DIR655 is still running well, solid as a rock, no loss of connectivity. We liked it so much we got the Dlink DWA643 Xtreme N Expresscard. It has been disappointing so far.

Prior getting this card, we had been getting a signal strength of 4-5 bars with the internal wireless card in her Dell laptop. That was with the N router. Now with the N card added, the signal strength is 1-2 bars. The connection is stable, but there is no increase in speed at all.

Since I was planning on hooking my Wii up the router, I'm running it in mixed mode. Is it possible this is decreasing the router's range and speed for the N card?
Johnny
www.teamfurr.org
But a family cat is not replaceable like a wornout coat or a set of tires. Each new kitten becomes its own cat, and none is repeated. I am four cats old, measuring out my life in friends that have succeeded but not replaced one another.--Irving Townsend


#10 of 16 OFFLINE   AmusingistheDawn

AmusingistheDawn

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 155 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 02 2008

Posted January 10 2009 - 02:30 PM

I'm in the market for a wireless router and I'm pretty close to getting the DIR655 as well. I had a question though. I want to have the main computer hardwired via the cable modem, and then other laptops and cable boxes would use the wireless. I noticed that some of the cheaper models from linksys don't have the ability to be used as a wired/wireless router. Does the DIR655 have connections so that I can run the ethernet cable from modem to wireless router, but still have a solid wired connection from the router to the main computer?
Samsung HL61A750  -PS Audio Soloist into Quintet  -Denon 2808CI  -Denon DCD-3520 (Burr-Brown OPA-627opamps & Elna Silmic II capacitors)  -Panasonic DMP-BD35K  -Dish Vip722  -Harmony One  -Klipsch KLF-20's (HT mains)  -Klipsch KLF C-7 (Crites crossover)  -Klipsch S-2's  -Klipsch RW-10 

#11 of 16 OFFLINE   Keith Plucker

Keith Plucker

    Screenwriter



  • 1,044 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 1999
  • LocationSacramento

Posted January 10 2009 - 03:28 PM

Yes, the DIR655 has four gigabit ports for wired connections in addition to its wireless capabilities.

I have been using one at work for some time and it works great.

-Keith
As far as I'm concerned, it's a damned shame that a field as potentially dynamic and vital as journalism should be overrun with dullards, bums, and hacks, hag-ridden with myopia, apathy, and complacence, and generally stuck in a bog of stagnant mediocrity. - Hunter S. Thompson, 1958, from cover letter he wrote for a newspaper job.


#12 of 16 OFFLINE   AmusingistheDawn

AmusingistheDawn

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 155 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 02 2008

Posted January 10 2009 - 04:02 PM

Oh that's cool. Thanks

Do you know what device would work best using the wireless router with my DVR and BD player? Do I have to buy another thing to use the ethernet connections on them, or can you use the USB port as the other end of the wireless?
Samsung HL61A750  -PS Audio Soloist into Quintet  -Denon 2808CI  -Denon DCD-3520 (Burr-Brown OPA-627opamps & Elna Silmic II capacitors)  -Panasonic DMP-BD35K  -Dish Vip722  -Harmony One  -Klipsch KLF-20's (HT mains)  -Klipsch KLF C-7 (Crites crossover)  -Klipsch S-2's  -Klipsch RW-10 

#13 of 16 OFFLINE   Keith Plucker

Keith Plucker

    Screenwriter



  • 1,044 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 1999
  • LocationSacramento

Posted January 12 2009 - 02:44 PM

Without knowing what DVR and BD player you are using it is hard to say.

If the BD player has an ethernet jack, you can run a cable into one of the router's ports and you should be good to go.

When I had my Tivo Series2 DVR, I plugged a Tivo approved USB 10/100 adapter into the Tivo, and then ran the ethernet cable from the adapter to the router.

If you want to use wireless adapters with your DVR and BD player you will have to check with the manufacturers or search the net to see what devices are compatible. Wireless or wired, you will need to check your manuals to see how to configure the devices or it may be automatic.

-Keith
As far as I'm concerned, it's a damned shame that a field as potentially dynamic and vital as journalism should be overrun with dullards, bums, and hacks, hag-ridden with myopia, apathy, and complacence, and generally stuck in a bog of stagnant mediocrity. - Hunter S. Thompson, 1958, from cover letter he wrote for a newspaper job.


#14 of 16 OFFLINE   NIU Engineer

NIU Engineer

    Auditioning



  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 08 2011

Posted February 08 2011 - 11:27 AM

hey Johnny, i just pick up a Netgear N600, its dual band, sends out a 2.4ghz and 5.0ghz signal, cost me $80 at Bestbuy, its awesome, very fast and reliable it has a 300Mbs normal rate transfer but can boost up to 600Mbs for HD steaming. best router i'v every owned!! hope this helps


#15 of 16 OFFLINE   David Norman

David Norman

    Screenwriter



  • 2,019 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 12 2001
  • LocationCharlotte, NC

Posted February 09 2011 - 12:31 PM

Nice advice and maybe after using the 655 for 30 months he might be ready to upgrade.

OTOH, the my 655 is still running strong for close to 2 years and so far no reason to look higher up the chain.


 

 


#16 of 16 OFFLINE   Johnny Angell

Johnny Angell

    Producer



  • 5,338 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 13 1998
  • Real Name:Johnny Angell
  • LocationCentral Arkansas

Posted February 10 2011 - 05:07 AM



Originally Posted by David Norman 

Nice advice and maybe after using the 655 for 30 months he might be ready to upgrade.

OTOH, the my 655 is still running strong for close to 2 years and so far no reason to look higher up the chain.



Yup, it's running fine.  No need to upgrade.  Thank for the advice, though.


Johnny
www.teamfurr.org
But a family cat is not replaceable like a wornout coat or a set of tires. Each new kitten becomes its own cat, and none is repeated. I am four cats old, measuring out my life in friends that have succeeded but not replaced one another.--Irving Townsend