Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

DirecTV HR20 HD DVR


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
25 replies to this topic

#1 of 26 Richard Gallagher

Richard Gallagher

    Screenwriter

  • 2,979 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 09 2001
  • Real Name:Rich Gallagher
  • LocationFishkill, NY

Posted January 03 2007 - 02:41 PM

I'm going to have one of these up and running later this month, and I'm wondering if anyone here has used one yet. I'm particularly interested in knowing if there are any problems with it that I need to be aware of.
Rich Gallagher

#2 of 26 Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor

  • 8,055 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted January 04 2007 - 01:45 AM

Most Tivo users who switched to it absolutely HATE it. New DVR users are more accepting. There are some minor bugs that are discussed in detail in the HR20 section of the DBS Talk forum.

-Robert

#3 of 26 Richard Gallagher

Richard Gallagher

    Screenwriter

  • 2,979 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 09 2001
  • Real Name:Rich Gallagher
  • LocationFishkill, NY

Posted January 05 2007 - 06:03 AM

I prefer the Tivo interface myself, but the Tivos aren't able to receive the locals in HD and apparently won't be able to receive the new HD programming which DirecTV will be rolling out. There don't seem to be any guarantees that DirecTV will support any upgrades to the Tivo HD receivers, so I'm going to go with the HR20.

How do I get to the DBS Talk forum?

Thanks.
Rich Gallagher

#4 of 26 Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul

  • 38,905 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted January 05 2007 - 08:35 AM

This seems to be my predicament as well.

I own the DirecTV HD Tivo and am faced with the fact that
within a year it will no longer be compatible with the service.

I do know DirecTV will be replacing the equipment at no
charge with their own DVR.

I also know that this new DVR comes nowhere close to the
slick interface and features of Tivo.

In fact, it seems that everyone from cable to fiber has
abandoned Tivo for their own brand of DVR.

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

gallery_269895_23_10043.jpg Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders gallery_269895_23_1316.jpg Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

gallery_269895_23_773.jpg Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive gallery_269895_23_992.jpgClick Here for our complete DVD review archive

gallery_269895_23_7246.jpg Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule gallery_269895_23_3120.jpg Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#5 of 26 Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor

  • 8,055 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted January 05 2007 - 08:58 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rickey
How do I get to the DBS Talk forum?
Type www.dbstalk.com into the address bar of your favorite browser. Or click the link in this message.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronald Epstein
I own the DirecTV HD Tivo and am faced with the fact that within a year it will no longer be compatible with the service.
There's a small group of people who could care less about national HD channels. The HR10-250 will work just fine with standard def DirecTV programming and OTA digital signals for years to come. DirecTV has never disabled a receiver. Even the UltimateTV DVR is still working for some people.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronald Epstein
In fact, it seems that everyone from cable to fiber has abandoned Tivo for their own brand of DVR.
Except for Comcast who will have a Tivo powered cable box out soon.

-Robert

#6 of 26 Richard Gallagher

Richard Gallagher

    Screenwriter

  • 2,979 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 09 2001
  • Real Name:Rich Gallagher
  • LocationFishkill, NY

Posted January 05 2007 - 10:05 AM

Robert,

Thanks -- I found it.
Rich Gallagher

#7 of 26 Richard Gallagher

Richard Gallagher

    Screenwriter

  • 2,979 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 09 2001
  • Real Name:Rich Gallagher
  • LocationFishkill, NY

Posted January 05 2007 - 10:14 AM

[quote=Ronald Epstein]I also know that this new DVR comes nowhere close to the slick interface and features of Tivo.
QUOTE]

Ron.

I have a Hughes Tivo DirecTV DVR in my living room and a non-Tivo DirecTV DVR in my bedroom.

To me the biggest drawback to the DirecTV DVR is the inability to easily switch back and forth between two football games while still getting 30 minutes of recording on each. The only way I could figure out how to do it with the DirecTV DVR is to actually press record on one of the channels and then toggle back and forth.

There is a mountain between me and the NYC stations, so the only way I'm going to see the locals in HD is through DirecTV.

The good news is that the DirecTV DVR in the bedroom will be replaced by the Tivo DVR which I currently have in the living room.
Rich Gallagher

#8 of 26 NightRider

NightRider

    Auditioning

  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 05 2007

Posted January 10 2007 - 08:19 AM

Hello. i'm new new here.Posted Image
I have a question. I bought a DirecTV Hughes HD-250 DVR box for about one year and i noticed that it comes with two USB ports in the back. On instructions manual they don't explain why those USB ports are there.
My question is: is this USB ports are useful? Can i transfer video thru my computer?

Other question: What is the best RF remote control that i can use with this sat box?

Thanks!

#9 of 26 Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor

  • 8,055 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted January 10 2007 - 11:06 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by NightRider
bought a DirecTV Hughes HD-250 DVR box
It's an HR10-250. I hate to be picky but with DirecTV's numbering system, a typo can mean a completely different model.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NightRider
On instructions manual they don't explain why those USB ports are there.
It should say "For Future Use".

Quote:
Originally Posted by NightRider
My question is: is this USB ports are useful?
On a stock HR10-250, they will power a USB fan or a USB night light. They are well known for generating a lot of questions on forums.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NightRider
Can i transfer video thru my computer?
This is a touchy subject. It's technically digital video extraction. Discussion of it is banned at sites that cover Tivo and DVRs. I'm not sure about this model but other DirecTV DVRs can have their video extracted via USB. HD video via the USB port would take hours though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NightRider
What is the best RF remote control that i can use with this sat box?
My opinion would be the Harmony 890. I'm using the 880 which is the same remote but strictly IR.

-Robert

#10 of 26 Charlie Campisi

Charlie Campisi

    Screenwriter

  • 1,524 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 20 2004

Posted January 18 2007 - 09:44 AM

There is a recent article about the issues Directv is having with the HR20.

http://www.hdtvmagaz....tvs_hr20_-.php

The Directv HD tivo is having its own issues with the recent software upgrade. All in all, a very frustrating time for Directv customers with HD DVRs.

#11 of 26 Mary M S

Mary M S

    Screenwriter

  • 1,546 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 12 2002

Posted January 18 2007 - 10:10 AM

I'm not current on news regarding D*.

You have to lease these things now! Posted Image
Does D* still have a buy option?

[Hugs her HR10-250 tight]
You've been dreaming. Dreaming of Sea Captain who haunted this house.

#12 of 26 BenS

BenS

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 210 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 09 2001

Posted January 18 2007 - 11:45 PM

So if I understand you right my HR10-250 will be useless in a year or so. Right now I get local HD via antenna and D* hd via satellite. Am I correct?
Thanks,

Ben

#13 of 26 Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul

  • 38,905 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted January 19 2007 - 12:19 AM

Ben,

Once DirecTV changes their coding, the HR10-250 will be
useless.

I was told that DirecTV will be replacing equipment at no
charge, but you will of course receive a DVR that while
HD-DVD capable, is not nearly as refined as the Tivo.

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

gallery_269895_23_10043.jpg Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders gallery_269895_23_1316.jpg Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

gallery_269895_23_773.jpg Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive gallery_269895_23_992.jpgClick Here for our complete DVD review archive

gallery_269895_23_7246.jpg Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule gallery_269895_23_3120.jpg Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#14 of 26 Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor

  • 8,055 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted January 19 2007 - 12:24 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie Campisi
The Directv HD tivo is having its own issues with the recent software upgrade. All in all, a very frustrating time for Directv customers with HD DVRs.
The software upgrade and the subsequent fix weren't perfect. There are some audio drop-outs while watching Fox stations. The biggest issue was when DirecTV started sending enhanced guide information. It worked for all receivers except DirecTivos (HD and SD) running the latest software. The extra info caused internal errors which filled up the log files. Once these log files hit their max size, the box would re-boot. D* has stopped sending this information until a fix can be put into place.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mary M S
You have to lease these things now! Posted Image
Does D* still have a buy option?
All new receivers are on the lease program. You can still get the HR10-250 at certain retailers and own it. Just make sure when activating it, the CSR doesn't accidentally put you on the lease program.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenS
So if I understand you right my HR10-250 will be useless in a year or so. Right now I get local HD via antenna and D* hd via satellite. Am I correct?
You are not entirely correct. Any new HD programming that D* puts up on their satellite will be in MPEG4 and broadcast from new satellites. The HR10 does not have an MPEG4 decoder or the ability to tune into the new satellites. It will still receive any MPEG2 HD for as long as D* sees fit to broadcast. It will still receive all MPEG2 SD programming. And it will still receive OTA. All Tivo functions will still work with the programming that it receives.

-Robert

#15 of 26 Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul

  • 38,905 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted January 19 2007 - 03:58 AM

Robert,

...but for those of us that receive our locals through DirecTV
then out HR10-250 is basically a paperweight by years end. Correct?

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

gallery_269895_23_10043.jpg Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders gallery_269895_23_1316.jpg Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

gallery_269895_23_773.jpg Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive gallery_269895_23_992.jpgClick Here for our complete DVD review archive

gallery_269895_23_7246.jpg Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule gallery_269895_23_3120.jpg Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#16 of 26 Robert Crawford

Robert Crawford

    Studio Mogul

  • 24,157 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 09 1998
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMichigan

Posted January 19 2007 - 04:17 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronald Epstein
Robert,

...but for those of us that receive our locals through DirecTV
then out HR10-250 is basically a paperweight by years end. Correct?
Ron,
I think you get the NYC stations, if true then you will continue to receive MPEG-2 over the air from them.

Crawdaddy

 

Blu-ray Preorder Schedule

 


#17 of 26 Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor

  • 8,055 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted January 19 2007 - 07:21 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronald Epstein
Robert,

...but for those of us that receive our locals through DirecTV
then out HR10-250 is basically a paperweight by years end. Correct?
The NY and LA markets are always exceptions. They are the only markets that can currently get local HD via satellite in MPEG2. Everything is pointing to ALL HD switching to MPEG4 by the end of the year. If it doesn't meet that deadline, then it will be shortly thereafter. The current "new" satellites are MPEG4 spot beams. The newest satellites to be launched this year will carry national HD channels in MPEG4. That will be channels like Food Network, National Geographic, MTV, etc.

My plan is to keep the Tivo for local OTA HD and any SD programming. I'll get the HR20 for national HD programming. And I'll finally retire my SD DirecTivo.

-Robert

#18 of 26 Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul

  • 38,905 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted January 19 2007 - 07:59 AM

I just want to be clear on this...

Once DirecTV upgrades to MPEG4 what will I lose through
my HR10-250?

Is it the LOCAL or NATIONAL channels? I always heard the
local, which if that is the case, all I need is an OTA antenna.

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

gallery_269895_23_10043.jpg Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders gallery_269895_23_1316.jpg Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

gallery_269895_23_773.jpg Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive gallery_269895_23_992.jpgClick Here for our complete DVD review archive

gallery_269895_23_7246.jpg Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule gallery_269895_23_3120.jpg Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#19 of 26 Robert Crawford

Robert Crawford

    Studio Mogul

  • 24,157 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 09 1998
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMichigan

Posted January 19 2007 - 09:08 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronald Epstein
I just want to be clear on this...

Once DirecTV upgrades to MPEG4 what will I lose through
my HR10-250?

Is it the LOCAL or NATIONAL channels? I always heard the
local, which if that is the case, all I need is an OTA antenna.
Ron,
From my understanding, you will continue to receive your local NYC HD channels at MPEG 2. Any new HD channels added after these two new sats. go up in orbit will be in MPEG4.

Crawdaddy

 

Blu-ray Preorder Schedule

 


#20 of 26 Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor

  • 8,055 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted January 19 2007 - 09:57 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Crawford
Ron,
From my understanding, you will continue to receive your local NYC HD channels at MPEG 2. Any new HD channels added after these two new sats. go up in orbit will be in MPEG4.
The rumors I hear are the entire HD channel lineup from D* will go MPEG4 and move to the new satellites. The HR10 will still get SD via satellite and HD via antenna. That's what I will keep mine for.

They are spending billion (or hundreds of millions) on launching 4 new satellites to broadcast MPEG4/HD. Why leave a handfull of HD on the legacy system. Switching it to MPEG4 and the new sats will free up bandwidth for dozens of new SD shopping channels.

-Robert


Back to Blu-ray, DVD, LD, Tivo, Satellite and Other Playback Devices



Forum Nav Content I Follow