Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Experience with Blue Sky? Proprietary connectors?


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 of 9 OFFLINE   Charlie Campisi

Charlie Campisi

    Screenwriter



  • 1,536 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 20 2004

Posted November 03 2006 - 02:01 AM

I currently have a HSU STF-2. I've been considering upgrading and a friend who is not into HT had his home builder subcontract out a media room installation. The guy set him up with a Blue Sky 6.1 system with 2 12" Blue Sky subs. The Blue Sky system uses powered satellites which I guess are called 'studio monitors.' There is little in the forum on these, but I found this 12 post thread here. Info for Blue Sky is at their website www.abluesky.com.

Anyway, the contractor had some problems getting the dual subs to work properly. My buddy said something about the configuration was causing them to act as an antenna and creating interference. So while at his house and seeing the unused 12" sub on the floor, I asked to borrow it. I got it home and discovered that it doesn't have a coax connection. It looks like it uses proprietary connectors and all the satellites run through the sub, or at least could run through the sub. Not sure if they must run through the sub. Here's a link to the sub description. You may have to page through the pics and blow it up to see.

Am I right about this? Is this system subject to all the criticisms that we see for cheap HTiBs and Bose that if one component goes, you need to repair or replace because it's not compatible with other equipment?

I'm not looking to burst my buddy's bubble. He's not into HT and likes the system. I just want to understand more about it.

#2 of 9 OFFLINE   frogpond

frogpond

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 173 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 07 2006

Posted November 03 2006 - 03:14 AM

It might be subject to criticism but being in the tv/film industry I have seen Blue Sky studios before and I do know they are expensive. Didn't know they had proprietary connections though. Hmmm...some more research is in order.

#3 of 9 OFFLINE   Paul_Dunlop

Paul_Dunlop

    Second Unit



  • 318 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 28 2001

Posted November 03 2006 - 03:37 AM

Hi Those aren't proprietary - they are XLR connections See the Blue Jeans Cable link on this site and look at the balanced audio section They are a higher end connection for speakers
HD DVD in the house

#4 of 9 OFFLINE   Charlie Campisi

Charlie Campisi

    Screenwriter



  • 1,536 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 20 2004

Posted November 03 2006 - 03:53 AM

Thanks Paul! That makes a little more sense. One other question. Do you need an XLR receiver or pre-amp to use these? I didn't see an adaptor for coax to XLR. I looked at the Blue Sky 'bass management controller' and it looked like all the inputs were also XLR connectors. How do you get the digital audio from your dvd/tv tuner to the Blue Sky? My buddy's system is in a wall rack that is not easily accessible and I won't be at his place for a while to poke around.

#5 of 9 OFFLINE   ScottCHI

ScottCHI

    Screenwriter



  • 1,292 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 21 2004

Posted November 03 2006 - 06:53 AM

There ARE RCA to XLR connectors. This won't make for a balanced connection, though (which is probably unnecessary anyway).

There are also devices that convert RCA to XLR (and vice versa).


XLR male to RCA male

XLR female to RCA male
"All men are frauds. The only difference between them is that some admit it. I myself deny it."

#6 of 9 OFFLINE   Charlie Campisi

Charlie Campisi

    Screenwriter



  • 1,536 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 20 2004

Posted November 03 2006 - 08:12 AM

Cool. Not that I'll spend the $15 just to audition his sub. But it's good to learn nonetheless.

#7 of 9 OFFLINE   Alan M

Alan M

    Second Unit



  • 454 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 03 2003

Posted November 03 2006 - 08:54 AM

There is also A device called an "Art's cleanbox".I use it to adjust from consumer RCA connectors to XLR connectors for my Crown amp.

Price ,about $50 at any pro audio shop. Posted Image

#8 of 9 OFFLINE   ScottCHI

ScottCHI

    Screenwriter



  • 1,292 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 21 2004

Posted November 03 2006 - 01:16 PM

Thanks, Alan. I couldn't rememeber the name of that thing for the life of me today when I posted those links to the cables. This device WILL convert unbalanced RCA to balanced XLR (if that's important to you).

ARTcessories CleanBOX
"All men are frauds. The only difference between them is that some admit it. I myself deny it."

#9 of 9 OFFLINE   frogpond

frogpond

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 173 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 07 2006

Posted November 03 2006 - 01:42 PM

Interesting that they use XLR connections as alot of the studio monitors I have seen use RCA jacks. The Rolands for my editing system I use have RCA jacks. RCA to XLR or vice versa adapters can sometimes be found at Radio Shack.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users