Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

I need more component inputs....


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   JayKellen

JayKellen

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 76 posts
  • Join Date: May 22 2003

Posted May 29 2006 - 03:25 AM

I recently purchased monster component cables for my PS2, and without realizing it, I do not have any more inputs for component cables on my TV. I have a Toshiba HD Widescreen Projection television by the way. My HD 1 input is for my HD Cable Box and My HD 2 input is for my DVD player. I went to my local best buy and the manager said that there is no splitter that can be used, and that I wouldnt want one anyway since it would alter the connection, but he said I would need a HDMI to DVI cable, which would free up one of my component cables. Basically, he said to unplut the components for my HD cable box, hook that up to the DVI cable, and then plug my PS2 monster cables into the HD 1 inputs.

I know this sounds confusing, but I am wondering if he is right and that this is what i have to do?...What exactly is DVI connection, since I am not too familar with this yet. Thanks in advance for your help.

#2 of 7 OFFLINE   GordonL

GordonL

    Supporting Actor



  • 771 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 14 2000

Posted May 29 2006 - 03:38 AM

DVI:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DVI

If both your TV and your HD Cable box have HDMI and/or DVI, you can get a cable with the appropriate connector on each end and you're done. HDMI is backwards compatible with DVI. Otherwise, there are component switchboxes available. Just Google it.

#3 of 7 OFFLINE   Andrew Pratt

Andrew Pratt

    Producer



  • 3,813 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 08 1998

Posted May 29 2006 - 07:15 AM

That'll work just fine if your cable box has a DVI or HDMI output on the back. If it doesnt' and you do need to split the component cable there's a number of switching devices that can take multiple inputs and send it out over a single out.

#4 of 7 OFFLINE   Chris Lanni

Chris Lanni

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 134 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 01 2002

Posted June 01 2006 - 12:47 PM

Here is what I have my eye on if it weren't for the fact that it is so spensive. Posted Image

Component switching, digital audio, and you can even program it with a remote.

http://www.digitalco....ideo/hds41.asp

There are more options that are less expensive.

This one is at the top of the page. Model CE-SW104HD. Only switches analog audio.

1. http://www.futurehom....com/v600.shtml


This one only switches video, no audio, but has two outputs.

2. http://www.hdtvsuppl...m/62covisw.html


This one has a good following, and also does digital audio.

3. http://www.copperbox....uneek=57726715

Of course someone probably has more options.

Chris

#5 of 7 OFFLINE   mark alan

mark alan

    Supporting Actor



  • 620 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 19 2002

Posted June 01 2006 - 01:57 PM

"I went to my local best buy and the manager said that there is no splitter that can be used"

He is full of shit. Anyway, you don't need a splitter, you need a switcher. Go to Radio Shack and buy this

http://www.radioshac....entPage=search

Use the left and right audio and video connectors for the three component connectors. I have used both it and the four way switch (HD, DVD, gamecube, PS2) for my projector for years. Works like a charm.

#6 of 7 OFFLINE   Craig Beam

Craig Beam

    Screenwriter



  • 1,689 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 16 2000

Posted June 05 2006 - 01:31 AM

$25 at Target. Handles 4 component sources.

Don'tcha just HATE managers who don't have a clue about the product they manage?

#7 of 7 OFFLINE   Jean D

Jean D

    Screenwriter



  • 1,329 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 08 2004

Posted June 20 2006 - 02:21 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Beam
$25 at Target. Handles 4 component sources.

Which ones are those?

I need a new receiver, and I was thinking about a denon, however, when I hooked up my parents I noticed a degradation for its video switching capabilities, so I had to run the HD box direct to get a better picture. Is there a way to turn off whatever internal scaling it has? or is there another reciever fairly affordable w/ video switching which passes the signal through. Im looking simply because I have far too many components that use component video and I have no more inputs, as it is now, I have to disconnect from one device to another everytime I watch dvd's now, plus my receiver is running out of dig. coax and optical inputs. Any suggestions?
Gear: Crestron AADS, Crestron 4L, RTI T2C, SVS PC 16-46, Xbox 360, Wii, Bass Shakers, TiVo HD, Toshiba A3 HD-DVD, 42" Panasonic TH-42PWD8UK, two Denon AVR-2106's, Speaker Craft Aim 7 Five's, Samsung HD-950 DVD player.