Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

connecting atx power supply to receiver


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1 of 8 John.Bryson

John.Bryson

    Auditioning

  • 8 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 25 2005

Posted June 01 2005 - 09:17 PM

my receiver only has a two prong connection in the back, and my computer power supply has a three. do you guys just rip off the extra ground and connect it?

#2 of 8 Patrick Sun

Patrick Sun

    Studio Mogul

  • 37,590 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 30 1999

Posted June 02 2005 - 02:12 AM

Probably not a good idea to plug a PC into your receiver. The AC plugs on the back of the receiver should be reserved for playback units (tape deck, DVD player), which don't soak up a lot of electricity per normal use.
"Jee-sus, it's like Iwo Jima out there" - Roger Sterling on "Mad Men"
Patcave | 2006 Films | 2007 Films | Flickr | Comic-Con 2012 | Dragon*Con 2012

#3 of 8 John Garcia

John Garcia

    Executive Producer

  • 11,513 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 24 1999
  • Real Name:John
  • LocationNorCal

Posted June 02 2005 - 04:07 AM

1) NEVER strip the ground off any 3 prong device. There's a reason it is there.

2) As Patrick mentioned, the outlet on your receiver has a max rating (check your manual) that is generally pretty low, and a PC power supply will almost certainly exceed that rating.
HT: Emotiva UMC-200, Emotiva XPA-3, Carnegie Acoustics CSB-1s + CSC-1, GR Research A/V-1s, Epik Empire, Oppo BDP-105, PS4, PS3,URC R-50, APC-H10, Panamax 5100 Bluejeans Cable
System Two: Marantz PM7200, Pioneer FS52s, Panasonic BD79
(stolen) : Marantz SR-8300, GR Research A/V-2s, Sony SCD-222ES SACD, Panasonic BD-65, PS3 60G (250G)

Everybody is a genius, but if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it’ll spend its whole life believing that it is stupid.” – Albert Einstein

 


#4 of 8 John.Bryson

John.Bryson

    Auditioning

  • 8 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 25 2005

Posted June 02 2005 - 05:20 AM

well it is just for powering some 12v fans to cool my amp and receiver.

#5 of 8 Mattak

Mattak

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 247 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 15 2003

Posted June 02 2005 - 02:10 PM

Use an adapter, you can find them at your local hardware store. They have a terminal for grounding to...something Posted Image

#6 of 8 Bryan Michael

Bryan Michael

    Supporting Actor

  • 564 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 02 2002

Posted June 02 2005 - 02:48 PM

aka a cheater blug had to use one on my sub amp to get rid of ground loop
there are olny 2 types of people in the world the irish and thoes who want to be irish

#7 of 8 Robert Cowan

Robert Cowan

    Supporting Actor

  • 504 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 10 2003

Posted June 02 2005 - 03:55 PM

the amount of electrical noise that a computer power supply introduces into a circuit (especially a receiver) is phenomenal. add fans the the mix and you just added 50+dB worth of electrical noise into your receiver. not the "best" thing to do.

#8 of 8 David_Rivshin

David_Rivshin

    Second Unit

  • 352 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 13 2001

Posted June 03 2005 - 08:11 AM

Using an entire ATX power supply to run some fans is just huge overkill, not to mention unwieldy. Go down to your local electronic supply store (RadioShack works fine, if overpriced), and pick up an AC/DC converter (sometimes called a wall-wart or power brick). Most computer fans run off 12V, but if you want to slow (and quiet) them down run them at 7V instead. A voltage-selectable converter works nicely for experimenting and manual control. Depending on the current output of the converter and the current draw of the fans, one converter should easily run a number of fans, just splice the wires to run them in parallel.