Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Photo
- - - - -

Required Equipment


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   CharlieS

CharlieS

    Auditioning



  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 18 2004

Posted November 29 2004 - 11:09 AM

I think I have the "basics" sorted out... looking at a PLV-Z3 and HD format screen. Speakers most likely Bose but that may change. My question is more regarding the "other" gear... such as: I plan on watching mostly DVD's but the occasional HD TV program. My regular TV is built into the wall and the projector will be ceiling mounted and the screen will come down right in front of the little TV when we want the big picture. How can I "share" my TV signal? Will my digital cable signal go into my A/V receiver and I can select the output source from there (small or big TV)? Do I need some other sort of splitter or switching device? Regarding the HDTV, Is that something I get from my cable provider or do you need some soert of HDTV processing component? Thanks in advance. PS: any comments on the choice of the Z3? Charlie

#2 of 7 OFFLINE   Tim K

Tim K

    Second Unit



  • 402 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 07 1999

Posted November 30 2004 - 03:43 AM

You will have alot of people telling you that Bose is overpriced crap and to drop the concept, so I won't bother to do it myself...oh I guess I just did. As for the sharing of video, you will need to purchase some type of video switcher. You receiver will likely not be set up to route video to two different sources. When receivers state that they can handle video switching that means they can switch between input sources....but all of the video feeds will share the same output feed from the receiver as most receivers have multiple inputs but only a single output. You'll need to buy an HD capable video switcher, and you'll probably want one that is remote controlled. I believe there is a thread on HD video switchers somewhere in the Tweaking and Accessories forum.

#3 of 7 OFFLINE   JamesCB

JamesCB

    Second Unit



  • 440 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 20 2003

Posted November 30 2004 - 03:48 AM

Do a search for Bose on this or any other audio/HT forum. You may be surprised. James

#4 of 7 OFFLINE   Tim K

Tim K

    Second Unit



  • 402 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 07 1999

Posted November 30 2004 - 03:58 AM

Here is the HD switcher thread...

http://www.hometheat....ideo Switching

#5 of 7 OFFLINE   Ted Lee

Ted Lee

    Lead Actor



  • 8,399 posts
  • Join Date: May 08 2001

Posted November 30 2004 - 06:08 AM

as already stated, unless your gear (or receiver) has multiple video "monitor out" connections, you'll have to use a switcher of some sort. make sure you're using the highest qualtiy connection possible (s-vid at a minimum). regarding the hd content, since it sounds like you're already a cable subscriber, you'll have to contact them directly and ask what kind of hd package they offer. or, you can go to a new service provider like directv, dish or voom. voom, in particular, has a lot of hd content.
 

#6 of 7 OFFLINE   CharlieS

CharlieS

    Auditioning



  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 18 2004

Posted November 30 2004 - 07:41 AM

Thanks everyone! This forum is amazing. Looks like a switcher it is. No comments or feedback on the Z3?Posted Image

I'll post photos when it becomes real.

#7 of 7 OFFLINE   John S

John S

    Producer



  • 5,460 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 04 2003

Posted November 30 2004 - 07:43 AM

lol Start a new thread for the z3, we are not supposed to make specific comments like that in this section is all.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users