Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Verify My Computer Build


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 Chris Tsutsui

Chris Tsutsui

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 1,869 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 01 2002

Posted June 12 2003 - 12:25 PM

Hello, I was just looking for some clarification before I bought the parts for 2 computers. They will be used primarily for data entry, and internet use. lol Posted Image

I am given a budget of $600 per computer (no monitor or software)

I've come up with the following (ALL from one online reseller NEWEGG:
  • ENLIGHT Model# EN-72500AZ (BEIGE) ATX MID-TOWER CASE w/ 300Watt POWER SUPPLY - RETAIL AMD Approved & Pentium 4 Ready One Year Warranty. $58
  • Lite On 52x24x52 CDRW Model LTR-52246S OEM $43
  • WD WESTERN DIGITAL "SPECIAL EDITION" 80GB 7200RPM EIDE HARD DRIVE MODEL # WD800JB - OEM, DRIVE ONLY $82
  • GEIL DDR RAM 512MB PC-3200 Value 400MHz Ultra- CAS 2.5, 2T CommandGL5123200B Value. DDR400 $69
  • Asus Motherboard for AMD Athlon XP/Duron Processors, Model# A7N8X Deluxe Retail $128
  • AMD ATHLON XP 2500+ "Barton" 333 FSB PROCESSOR CPU- RETAIL $94
  • Transcend ATI Radeon 7000 32MB CRT+DVI+TV 4X AGP - RETAIL $35
That's motherboard, ram, hard drive, CD-rom, processor, and Case. There's integrated sound, USB2.0, firewire and lan so no need for those.

This appears to be a lasting computer with a lot of options for under $600. By the way, they already have Windows XP and Office XP. They also have CRT monitors already so need to buy those, and no need to buy speakers. I'm replacing the keyboard and mouse because the ones they have are pretty worn out.

The only concern I have is if the Radeon 7000 AGP4x will fit in the AGP Pro/8X slot of the A7N8X motherboard. Could anyone tell me if it will fit?


#2 of 6 Camp

Camp

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 2,303 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 03 1999

Posted June 12 2003 - 02:02 PM

Good value. Excellent job of shopping. If needed, you could probably save more money on a cheaper mobo. This PC doesn't need an nForce (though it's nice).

#3 of 6 Christop_Holmes

Christop_Holmes

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Join Date: May 31 2003

Posted June 12 2003 - 04:54 PM

if you want somethin good, you can add a dvd rom drive for about 30$ ( i wish i would have got mine with one so im going to upgrade) and if you want a stronger processor, go with a pentium 4 2.0 ghz. i think those are about 150$
Look For Me on, Rainbow Six 3: Black Arrow, Return To Castle Wolfenstein, Crimson Skies- Road To Revenge, Rainbow Six 3, , Ghost Recon- Island of thunder, ESPN Basketball, ESPN Football, Project Gotham Racing 2, Mechassult, Unreal Tournament, NFL 2k3

#4 of 6 Jeffrey_Jones

Jeffrey_Jones

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 287 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 06 2001

Posted June 18 2003 - 08:40 AM

Hello,

I'm thinking of a upgrading and am going through similar purchasing decisions. From all the reviews that I have read (Tom's Hardware, anandtech.com, etc.) you will increase system performance if you match the 333 FSB processor with 333 MHz RAM. 400 MHz consistently performs slower in this scenario.

Good luck,
Jeff

#5 of 6 Max Leung

Max Leung

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 4,612 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 06 2000

Posted June 18 2003 - 09:27 AM

Chris, the graphics card looks a little week. Are you planning to play 3D games with it? If so, I'd suggest a Geforce 4 Ti4200 as a minimum.

A DVD-ROM would be nice too.

At any rate, that should be a nice system. If you have an HT receiver that accepts SPDIF input, you'll be very happy with the sound quality as well.
Mahatma Gandhi, as you know, walked barefoot most of the time, which produced an impressive set of calluses on his feet. He also ate very little, which made him rather frail and with his odd diet, he suffered from bad breath. This made him...a super-callused fragile mystic hexed by halitosis.

Gamesh....

#6 of 6 LeeHuff

LeeHuff

    Newbie

  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 16 2003

Posted June 18 2003 - 09:35 AM

Get 2 sticks of 256mb instead of the 1 of 512. This way you can take advantage of the dual channel memory that the NForce2 provides.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users