Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Home Theater Plugged To Computer


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 of 10 OFFLINE   Zac_p

Zac_p

    Auditioning



  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 25 2003

Posted May 05 2003 - 02:19 AM

Is it possible to plugg a Home Theater in computer and enjoy GAMES, MUSIC, DVD. Does the system use the 3d gaming sound effects or does it ignore the stantards and make impossible 3d sound. And please, if possible, recommend a Home theater model recommend a soundcard regards

#2 of 10 OFFLINE   Scott L

Scott L

    Producer



  • 4,466 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 29 2000

Posted May 05 2003 - 07:30 AM

There are now a couple of options of getting 5.1 audio to your receiver. - A sound card with 5.1 analog outputs (M-Audio Revolution 7.1 or SB Audigy 2) - An AMD based system with the nVidia2 motherboard (The nVidia2 chipset can output Dolby Digital 5.1 through it's digital output) Anymore questions feel free to ask.

#3 of 10 OFFLINE   JeremyFr

JeremyFr

    Supporting Actor



  • 794 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 28 2003

Posted May 05 2003 - 08:22 AM

I was gonna say get an Audigy and use the 5.1 analog output and run them into the 5.1 input on a HT reciever should work just fine.
For those of you who know your job is to teach.
For those of you who dont know your job is to learn.

#4 of 10 OFFLINE   Zac_p

Zac_p

    Auditioning



  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 25 2003

Posted May 05 2003 - 01:17 PM

?!!!!!!!!! ok, first problem, my system is, P4 2.533 533fsb 512ram and Asus p4s8x motherboard I though about get an Audigy 2 and maybe go for 6.1 support in the Home Theater because this card is supposed to include this standard. So is really not possible to plug throw a pentium with asus??? only AMD !!!! regards

#5 of 10 OFFLINE   JeremyFr

JeremyFr

    Supporting Actor



  • 794 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 28 2003

Posted May 05 2003 - 01:19 PM

ok you lost me on that last one, Asus makes boards for both Intel and AMD chips, but no you cannot use an AMD on a board made for intel.
For those of you who know your job is to teach.
For those of you who dont know your job is to learn.

#6 of 10 OFFLINE   Zac_p

Zac_p

    Auditioning



  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 25 2003

Posted May 06 2003 - 10:28 AM

i know that i cannot plugg an amd core into an intel made mobo but the question is.... are you really sure i cannot plugg a HT on an intel based comp????? why am i supposed to be able to get that on amd pc an not in intel based one?????? that really makes no sense for me??? thanx

#7 of 10 OFFLINE   JeremyFr

JeremyFr

    Supporting Actor



  • 794 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 28 2003

Posted May 06 2003 - 11:29 AM

what they were saying is the Nvida chipset AMD boards have a 6channel output, but in your case easiest way to get 3d audio to your HT would be to use an audigy/audigy2, take the 6 channel analog out and hook it up to the 6 channel analog in on your reciever if it is so equipped like you would for DVD-A/SACD.
For those of you who know your job is to teach.
For those of you who dont know your job is to learn.

#8 of 10 OFFLINE   Zac_p

Zac_p

    Auditioning



  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 25 2003

Posted May 06 2003 - 01:50 PM

well now i´m more sure about what i need.
thank you very much.Posted Image

looking for an Audigy 2, btw there are 3 models and the difference is settled on inputs an outputs do you know wich model will be more suitable. I think the basic is not usefuul at all for this so ill chech platinum and platinum ex (i think those were the models)


thx

#9 of 10 OFFLINE   KenE

KenE

    Extra



  • 15 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 07 2002

Posted May 08 2003 - 04:03 AM

back to the original request,

soundcard- M-Audio flavor (the Revolution is nice!), or do some reading at http://www.hydrogenaudio.org for even more obscurely named cards.

home theater model- look through the HT Basics forum, try for seperates if they fit your budget

#10 of 10 OFFLINE   Greg_TSL

Greg_TSL

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 71 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 09 2002

Posted May 08 2003 - 04:57 AM

The Nforce2 motherboard from Nvidia actually outputs real-time encoded Dolby Digital via Toslink (same thing the Xbox has), other than that, you need to output discrete analog channels. Another concern is video output from the PC to your TV. I purchased the ATI All-In-Wonder 9700 Pro and connected my PC to my TV via the component video connection. My HDTV doesn't do 720p, and I believe this is the only way to go. Both 480p and 1080i were nearly nearly useless, and the screen format, even at 16x9 was terrible. leaving off the top and bottom of the screen (no toolbar!). If game companies put widescreen, HDTV resolution into their games (which would be simple for most first person shooters and driving games) I could see keeping the card, but as it is, most games will be cut off, scrunched, and otherwise pretty ugly on the HDTV. So as it is, my only HT game system is the Xbox and the very few games with 16x9 and decent gameplay. Hopefully as technologies converge and HDTV becomes more widespread options will increase, but for now, the solutions are primative.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users