Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

could NOT enable WEP on XP (home)


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 Ted Lee

Ted Lee

    Lead Actor

  • 8,398 posts
  • Join Date: May 08 2001

Posted March 31 2003 - 07:22 AM

hi all -

i recently setup a wireless network on a couple of pc's in my house (win98se) with 128bit WEP encryption. it worked perfectly.

but when i tried to add another pc (xp) it would not work for the life of me.

i spent about 4 hours trying various iterations. i did just about everything i could think of. i reinstalled drivers, verified via device manager, changed the bit encryption, blah blah blah.

my network icon shows that i have a solid connection to my network, but i couldn't get anything (internet, etc.) to work on the xp box.

i finally diabled WEP (for now) but it's buggin' me.

any ideas? let me know if you need more info.

thx,

ted
 

#2 of 6 Michael Reuben

Michael Reuben

    Studio Mogul

  • 21,769 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 12 1998

Posted March 31 2003 - 08:18 AM

Is every item in your wireless network (access point, receivers, whether USB or notebook card) made by the same company? Different manufacturers implement WEP differently, and if you try to mix-'n'-match equipment, it may not work. (So much for WiFi "compatibility"!)

M.
COMPLETE list of my disc reviews.       HTF Rules / 200920102011 Film Lists

#3 of 6 Ted Lee

Ted Lee

    Lead Actor

  • 8,398 posts
  • Join Date: May 08 2001

Posted March 31 2003 - 09:53 AM

yup, i actually have two different transmitter thingy's (wap?). one by linksys and one by hp. both of the antenna thingy's that i attach to each pc are by linksys.

my original config worked fine. when this started having problems i used the linksys transmitter.

no luck either way. i ended going back to the hp cuz it has a built in router which my girlfriend uses.

i hear ya, but somehow i don't think that's the problem - especially since it works okay on the 98 boxes.

of course i'm not sure...
 

#4 of 6 Paul McElligott

Paul McElligott

    Screenwriter

  • 2,598 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2002

Posted March 31 2003 - 09:59 AM

Some devices use "pass phrases" to generate their WEP keys and these Pass phrase generators are not all compatible. If you manually copy the actual keys, however, they will work together.
R.I.P. DVDSpot

#5 of 6 Ted Lee

Ted Lee

    Lead Actor

  • 8,398 posts
  • Join Date: May 08 2001

Posted March 31 2003 - 11:42 AM

so you're saying to manually copy over the hex (or binary or whatever it is) stuff manually?

cool...i'll give it a shot. thx!
 

#6 of 6 Lee L

Lee L

    Supporting Actor

  • 868 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 26 2000

Posted April 01 2003 - 01:52 AM

Ding Ding Ding, I think we may have a winner. The whole pass phrase thing is a joke. I know that the manufacurers put it in there to possibly make it easier to secure your system but many do not mention that the system is not part of the standard and is not compatible from one device to another. Even the way the text boxes are implemented sucks since some have one big box you type the whole key into and others have a bunch of boxes that 2 characters of the key go into each one etc.
Revenge is like serving cold cuts-

Tony Soprano