1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Why does my Onkyo Avr default to" all channel stereo" when streaming Direct tv movies?

Discussion in 'Streaming and Digital Media' started by Stiffy, May 25, 2012.

  1. Stiffy

    Stiffy Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I watch a DvD my Onkyo TX-707 automatically decodes and displays the audio format. (Ie Dolby digital,DTS-master,etc). But when I watch a "HD" movie streamed from Dtv the receiver defaults to "all channel stereo" I read that audio information takes up almost twice as much "Digital information space" as video. Does this mean Dtv is not broadcasting the audio in an hd format.
    Thanks for any and all insight you might have.
    Stiffy
     
  2. Cameron Yee

    Cameron Yee Executive Producer
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,293
    Likes Received:
    506
    Location:
    Since 2006
    Real Name:
    Cameron Yee
    All Channel Stereo is usually an audio processing option for two-channel audio signals (i.e. stereo) only. You should be able to cycle through additional audio processing options and see Dolby Pro Logic II, among others.

    The reason for the two-channel output would be either the programming itself is encoded that way or the DTV box is not set to output it. It also would depend on how your box is connected to your receiver, but if it's connected by any of the digital forms (coax, toslink or HDMI), the issue would lie in the programming or the DTV box settings.
     
  3. Stiffy

    Stiffy Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your response Cameron,
    What I do know is, It appears most... if not all "regular TV" audio is broadcast in stereo (2.1) and my AVR defaults to" All channel stereo" to distribute that sound evenly in my 5.1 system. I can cycle through My "processing options" with my AVR and process any signal in any number of custom settings, not necessarily the original audio feed. What I need to know is are they broadcasting the HD audio in HD formate and my AVR is not being Cued what processor to use ,or are they just broadcasting in stereo therefore any processing I use on this end is simulation as opposed to the actual HD audio signal?
    Thanks,
    Stiffy
     
  4. Cameron Yee

    Cameron Yee Executive Producer
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,293
    Likes Received:
    506
    Location:
    Since 2006
    Real Name:
    Cameron Yee
    I would suspect this, seeing that your AVR seems to be switching properly when it picks up other formats from your other source.

    Is there some kind of "info" button you can press on the DTV remote that would provide some specs on the signal coming in?


     
  5. TheBat

    TheBat Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 1999
    Messages:
    3,081
    Likes Received:
    26
    Real Name:
    Jacob
    direct tv is only dolby digital. there is a setting on the satalite receiver to use dolby digital.
    Jacob
     
  6. Stiffy

    Stiffy Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Jacob, You answered my question, and" Dolby Digital" is activated on our box......So, Dtv advertises HD movies but they can't transmit or process "HD" audio through there equipment.....Looks like I'm still a Netflix customer, even though I have to pay for the semi USELESS instant streaming to get the mail order Blu ray DVDs....I kinda feel bent over ....so to speak.
    Thanks,Stiffy
     

Share This Page