What's new

TV Shows on DVD News Story (1 Viewer)

Daniel Wilson

Auditioning
Hi all,

I'm a journalism student in Vancouver, B.C., Canada and I'm going to be doing a news story on the TV shows on DVD phenommenon, which I am engrossed in.

For my story, I'd love to have some fellow fans (and as I've seen so far, some much more infomred fans) opinions on the trend.

Any feedback you can provide would be greatly appreciated. Here are my questions:

What are a couple of your personal favorites to be released so far?

What are you personally looking forward to be released?

What's the most interesting/bizarre set you've seen released?

Please also include your name and where you are from.

Thank you in advance and I look forward to becoming a regular member of this forum,
Daniel Wilson

JasonPW

Stunt Coordinator

My favorite TV show to be released on DVD would have to be either The Simpsons or SCTV. My favorite "TV on DVD" release...that's tough! Shout Factory did an outstanding job on a "Here's Lucy" special edition. "Here's Lucy" is is kind of a mediocre show, but the exemplary array of extras and archive footage makes it a must-own for fnas of Lucille Ball's work. Another great DVD was the 4-title group of "Howdy Doody" shows released by Image a few years back. The episodes were presented in their intact "as-aired" versions, complete with original commercials for Tootsie Rolls and Wonder Bread. When you're dealing with a series that old and that rare (only a few Howdy episodes survive), giving fans the complete viewing experience, including commercials, promos, etc. is in itself an outstanding "bonus feature." Another release in this style is the "Beatles on Ed Sullivan" set, which includes entire "Sullivan" episodes including original commercials.

I'm ready for another season of "The Muppet Show"! The first season release, while unfortunately lacking some musical numbers due to clearance issues, was quite good.