1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Receiver audio across multiple TV inputs. Help please!

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Beaustachio, Aug 18, 2014.

  1. Beaustachio

    Beaustachio New User

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Beau
    Hello all,

    I am new to home theater and quality audio. Just to give you some perspective:

    My equipment:
    Receiver: JVC RX-6042S 100wattpc
    TV: 1080p 43" Samsung plasma
    PS3: using for netflix with HDMI cable
    Comcast non HD cable box
    Speakers: (2) Infinity Primus P163BK
    Center Speaker

    My question is how do I have the receiver produce sound across all of my TV inputs( a mix on HD and non HD). The problem I am running into is, I get the sound I want when watching TV in non HD on AV1 input, but when I switch to HDMI input to watch HD netflix on my Playstation 3, no audio is produced.

    This may be a stupid question but then again, I am very new to all of this! Any help is welcome.

    Thanks guys!!
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    How is everything connected?
     
  3. Beaustachio

    Beaustachio New User

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Beau
    I'm unplugged everything because it wasn't working the way I wanted it to. So at this point I am starting from scratch. Really the only input I want to play through the receiver and speaker system is the Playstation 3 netflix on HDMI1 input. I decided I won't be needing a cable box in my bedroom and if I do decide, I can live with the tv speakers. Any suggestions on how I should hook it up to have it work the way I want it? Do I just need an HD component cable?
     
  4. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Can you provide a picof this JVC?
     
  5. ArmSC

    ArmSC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Coastal SC
    Real Name:
    Tony
    The best way to do it to run the audio into the receiver from the sources. You'll want to run an optical cable from the playstation out into the receiver optical input for the best audio quality. If you want to add another source do the same thing. You'll have to switch both the TV and receiver to get everything to sync up if you're using HDMI sources. This is because you don't have a receiver that has HDMI inputs.

    You could also use the TV as the AV switcher...not the best route but it would work. To do this run the playstation and other sources into the TV. Then connect the TV to the receiver with an optical cable. Switching happens at the TV and receiver stays on the optical input.
     
  6. Beaustachio

    Beaustachio New User

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Beau
    Okay, I can try the optical cable route.
    Sam this is the back of my receiver. Any other suggestions you might have are welcome.

    JVC.jpg
     
  7. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    That AVR has one coax and two optical.Use them.
     
  8. Beaustachio

    Beaustachio New User

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Beau
    Okay, I am not having any luck with the optical cable. I have the optical cable in port 3 going to my playstation. I switched audio output on my ps3 to optical. I dont know which settings to change on my receiver. I have digital input settings that change and cycle tough options like "1DVD2DVR3TV" and pretty much all combinations of those.
     
  9. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    You have to set the digital inputs, to an input.
     

Share This Page