What's new

New htib question (1 Viewer)

slym

Auditioning
Real Name
Sue
We just purchased our very first htib system and HD TV setup. It's pretty much an entry level system. I have some questions on what kind of sound were getting out of this. Since I'm brand new at all this stuff, I'm wondering if this thing is working as it should.
What we have:
HTIB - Panasonic BTT195
TV - Panasonic VIERA TC-L47ET5
Connected with HDMI (ARC) from TV to the BTT195 blue-ray player. Speakers run out from this player.
Satellite into the TV with coax (don't have HD satellite yet).
On the player Surround settings - there are 4 options for the TV (2ch source). We get different response with the speakers:
Multi-channel out: decent volume out of all speakers, except absolutely no sound out of the middle front speaker.
Super Surround: middle front speaker works, but the two rear surround speakers are so low that you have to literally put them up to your ear to hear anything from them.
Dolby Pro Logic II Movie - same as super surround.
Dolby Pro Logic II Music - same as super surround.
I know it's a lower end system, but since I haven't ever owned one of these before, I want to make sure there's not anything wrong with the system, or the way we have it set up. We struggled to get sound out of it at all, but then tried the HDMI 2 port instead of the HDMI 1 port on the TV, and it started to work. When playing a DVD, we get sound out of all speakers.
Is this they way is SHOULD be?
Should we also connect a toslink cable from the satellite to the player? Would that help or just be a waste of money for the cable?

Steve Tannehill

R.I.P - 4.28.2015
Senior HTF Member
Deceased Member
Real Name
Steve Tannehill
Hi, Sue, welcome to HTF!
Since you are getting sound from DVD, we know that the speakers work. There is probably not much surround information coming from TV broadcasts, hence little sound from the rear speakers.
If you do decide to get a toslink cable, Amazon sells them for $5.49.

gene c