What's new

Finding the right cabinet design for the right driver (1 Viewer)

DonnyC123

Auditioning
Real Name
Don Olson
I'm looking for a little insight for which cabinet is right for my driver. I'm curently using a Ciare 15.00 Sw driver in a Mackie Sw1501 cabinet. http://www.usspeaker.com/ciare%201500sw-1.htm link for Ciare 15 Sw http://www.mackie.com/products/swa1501/ link for Mackie Sw1501 Again, I'm only using the cabinet from the Mackie which I picked up second hand. My only use for this sub is for home theater and the more I'm reading the less convinced I am that this is the way to go. I'm relatively new to this so I could be wrong. The Mackie cabinet states that this is a double horn loaded design. It's quite odd. The front of the cabinet has a small chamber with vent for the front of the driver and the back is a separate chamber that feeds into two horns. Which is basically almost the length of the entire cabinet with a piece of wood dividing it into the two parts at the bottom of the cabinet. There are no flares on the horns. For home theater I'm not sure if this setup is getting me down to 20 hz or not. Will this type of enclosure limit frequency response down to 20 hz even if the driver is rated for it? I'm pushing 1475w rms from an Audiotrak amp into the Ciare 15 sw which needs a ton of power. It sounds mighty but I'm looking to get the most out of the system. Any insight would be great. Thanks to all for the time -Don

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
For home theater I'm not sure if this setup is getting me down to 20 hz or not.
Not even close. The enclosure is ported and based on the specs of 36hz it is probably tuned to around 40hz.
Will this type of enclosure limit frequency response down to 20 hz even if the driver is rated for it?