1. Guest,
    If you need help getting to know Xenforo, please see our guide here. If you have feedback or questions, please post those here.
    Dismiss Notice

Audio noise (popping) playing blu-rays player? tv?

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by comfortablynumb, Sep 18, 2013.

  1. comfortablynumb

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a rebranded Funai TV (Sylvania) (latest firmware) about year and a half old, and a Sony BDP-S470 Blu-Ray player (latest firmware) some movies play fine others there is an intermitent audio noise, popping sound. The worst offender so far was Star Trek Into Darkness and Drive. Well others such as Hugo & True Grit play fine.

    I have a 6' Fosmon HDMI cable, and I just also purchased a 6' Monoprice Premium HDMI cable to see if it was possibly the cable. I've tried both HDMI1 and HDMI2 ports on the TV...I've tried messing with all the audio settings in blu-ray player to no avail.

    I don't have any other TV's I can plug my blu-ray player into, my comptuter monitor doesn't support HDMI either so I can't try that. I have some analog RCA cables on order from Monoprice so I may try running the audio to an old 90's Sony Pro-Logic Receiver and see what happens that way.

    Any other ideas in the interm
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    My guess is the audio mix is too hot for the TV speakers to handle.

    I listened to the opening sequence of ST:ID via a Sony S350 to a Hitachi plasma(that actually has decent sound) and it does not pop. I do not have Hugo or TG. Did not try Drive.
     
  3. comfortablynumb

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea it kinda reminds me of hot mastering, I didn't think that was an issue in blu-rays but I should know better I guess..I watched World War Z this am and noticed this noise yet again. Wonder if PC speakers would help in the interm, I mean they would have to be better then the tiny speakers in this TV though not sure if it has head phone out or not. Long term solution I guess would be an HDMI based receiver or a sound bar, but since I already have decent fronts and I guess now a vintage Klipsch center channel I bought in the 90's an HDMI receiver would be the best way to go.
     
  4. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    If your TV has any audio out, you can connect it to a stereo receiver. You don't "have to have" HDMI.

    If it has a headphone, use a 1/8th to RCA.
    If it has a digital, buy a digital to analog adapter(about $20-$40...depending how good of one you want)
     
  5. comfortablynumb

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok it has analog out, still waiting for RCA cables, and a have 3.5mm out...If I do analog to the old pro-logic receiver should I change the audio settings in the player to downmix to PCM? Thanks for your help
     
  6. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,041
    Likes Received:
    894
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Well, your TV is doing the "downmix to PCM" itself...

    I doubt you will notice a difference. And your player should have already been set downmix PCM. I'm kinda shocked the TV can digest DD or even DTS.
     
  7. comfortablynumb

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    These are the settings I see in the setup

    Audio HDMI :
    - Auto
     
  8. comfortablynumb

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well just to update I turned
    BD Audio Mix Setting to off and knock on wood the same movies are better but I'll have to experiment with it a bit more to make sure that's was 100% the problem.
     

Share This Page