What's new

Would this Woofer work for a Home Sub? (1 Viewer)

Bill Street

Stunt Coordinator
Partsexpress has what appears to be an excellent deal on this VIFA Woofer
http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/pshow...number=299-229
It states it is designed for auto sound, but would it be acceptible for Home use?
Forgive me if the answer is obvious, but I'm new to DIY projects. What I'm looking for is a replacement driver for my RCA/Optimus SW Pro 100 sub. I got some great suggestions for improving sound and I've filled it with pollyfill and sealed the port. But the driver is still substandard.
Thanks for any help.
Bill S.

Jack Gilvey

Senior HTF Member
With an Fs of 38.4Hz, Qts of .77, and an Xmax of only 4mm, I would leave this one in the trunk. ;)

Brian Bunge

Senior HTF Member
Bill,
I think the Qtc=.77 is way too high for home use. IMHO, you'd be much better off with one of the Dayton 10" drivers.
Give us the internal dimensions of the enclosure and we can see if it will work well in it or not.
Brian

Bill Street

Stunt Coordinator
Thanks Jack & Brian,

This forum is a great place to get information! The dimensions are 14"x 14"x14". It appears to be 3/4 MDF but I'm not absolutely certain.

I plugged the external dimensions into a cubic foot calculator and came up with 1.59 cubic feet. I put about 28 -30 ounces of polyfill in there. I'm at work so I'm not certain about the diameter or length of the port, which I was advised to seal.

I was told the 10" Titanic would be a top choice, but honestly I can't afford it. Is there a less expensive alternative to give some good results?

Bill S.

Brian Bunge

Senior HTF Member
If the internal dimensions are 14" cubed, then yes that's 1.59ft^3. I'll see if the Dayton I mentioned will work well in that enclosure later tonight.
Brian

Bill Street

Stunt Coordinator
Hi!

Thanks Mark. If I were to use one of those drivers should I keep my port sealed? Also, I take it that I would not need most of the polyfill I've added?