What's new

Two Towers - Army Of Darkness - same movie? (1 Viewer)

Philip Hamm

Senior HTF Member
When I was watching The Two Towers at the end when Theoden was giving his men the pep talk before the battle, as the Uruk-Hai were marching, all I could think of was the end of "Army Of Darkness" when Ash fights the same battle. I turned and said to my brother Peter "Maybe we can hold them off! ...And maybe I'm a Chinese jet pilot".

Laughter followed.

The marching hordes of Uruk-Hai looked just like the deadites from AoD.

I just couldn't get that scene from Army Of Darkness out of my mind for the whole sacking. Even when the Riders of Rohan came in, it was like when Henry The Red came and helped Bruce and his army against the Deadite scourge.

All we needed was Aragorn to turn to Eowyn and say "Give Me Some Sugar Baby".

Richard Kim

Senior HTF Member
Yeah, the Helm's Deep Battle did remind me alot of the final battle in Army of Darkness.
Also, in FOTR, when the Fellowship was formed in the council in Rivendell, was also reminiscent of AoD.("You have my sword", "You have my bow", "and my axe!") :D

Quentin

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Quentin H
That's like thinking that all siege movies are alike - AoD, Assault on Precinct 13, Two Towers, The Alamo...etc.

I guess they will have qualities in common, but I for one wasn't thinking anything but, "Holy Cow" when I watched Helm's Deep.

Todd_B

Second Unit
This is great!! I'm not alone.
I can now officially tell my s/o that I am not the only 'freak' in the world.
:D
Thanks guys!
Todd B

Kevin M

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Kevin Ray
Yes, I also saw (in my mind anyway) a connection, in fact..When the Uruk-Hai were running away at the end of the battle
I turned to my friend and said "Let's get the hell out of here!!"
:)

Artur Meinild

Screenwriter