Slot 1 mobos

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JohanK, Oct 13, 2001.

  1. JohanK

    JohanK Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2000
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a slot 1 P3 chip/heatsink assembly. I would like to buy a mobo to install it on and use the computer for web surfing and other general type material. In particular, I'm looking for an ASUS P3V4X mobo but I cannot find a vendor that sells this mobo. Anyone know where I can obtain one of these boards?
    If I cannot obtain a slot 1 mobo, is it possible to install my P3 chip on a socket 370 mobo and obtaining a heatsink/fan assembly for such a mobo?
    Thanx for any guidance you can give.
    ------------------
    http://www.hometheaterforum.com/bbs/equipment/28687.html
     
  2. Arthur Legardo

    Arthur Legardo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 1999
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't seen an SECC to socket 370 converter, you may be out of luck.
     
  3. JohanK

    JohanK Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2000
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Arthur, I found the Tyan Trinity 400 which has a socket 370 AND a slot 1 (only one can be used at a time). Thanx.
    ------------------
    http://www.hometheaterforum.com/bbs/equipment/28687.html
     
  4. Rob Gillespie

    Rob Gillespie Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 1998
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    5
    Tyans are generally regarded as good, solid mobos. But they can be picky with other hardware, especially graphics cards.
     
  5. JohanK

    JohanK Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2000
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rob, I was planning on using a 16MB AGP(4X) vid card using the RIVA/TNT2/Vanta chipset (mfg. is Jaton). Have you heard of any difficulties b/t TNT2 cards and Tyan mobos?
    I'm not looking for a state-of-the-art computer but am hoping to throw together a decent machine for very little money by buying a mobo and using other parts that I already have.
    Thanx.
    ------------------
    http://www.hometheaterforum.com/bbs/equipment/28687.html
     
  6. Rob Gillespie

    Rob Gillespie Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 1998
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    5
    Johan, I'm only commenting from my own experience with a Tyan Socket 7 board and what I've seen on AnandTech.
    The S7 board (very highly rated, btw) refused to cooperate with my Matrox G400Max. After mailing Tyan, I got a response back saying basically to forget it because it was a 'chipset issue'. Wrong, it was a Tyan issue. An FIC board with the same chipset worked perfectly well with the Matrox. I didn't really put much faith in them after that.
    The TNT2 was a popular card so you're less likely to have problems. If you want to be sure, send Tyan a mail and ask them. I only found out about my incompatibility after I'd paid for the board. There was no info on their site at all.
     
  7. JohanK

    JohanK Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2000
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanx for the advice Rob. I'll email Tyan and see what happens.
    ------------------
    http://www.hometheaterforum.com/bbs/equipment/28687.html
     
  8. Darren Lewis

    Darren Lewis Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    1
    You'll be able to get a Slot-1 motherboard second-user, especially at online auctions such as EBAY. I picked up a Tyan Trinity 400 from there not so long ago - very good motherboard.
    ------------------
    My HT My DVD Collection
     
  9. JohanK

    JohanK Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2000
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ordered the Tyan Trinity 400. I now have another buddy who wants to trade my 667 slot 1 P3 for his 800 socket 370 Celeron. Would you do it?
    ------------------
    http://www.hometheaterforum.com/bbs/equipment/28687.html
     
  10. Darren Lewis

    Darren Lewis Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    1
    Depends what you use you PC for. The Celeron is a good chip for general business usage - Word etc. It's not so good on graphics.
    Personally I'd stick with the P3. 667MHz isn't slow [​IMG]
    ------------------
    My HT My DVD Collection
     

Share This Page