What's new

Replacing a Yamaha RX-V1 (1 Viewer)

grlmopz

Auditioning
Real Name
Scott
Hi there,

I've recently purchased a 60" HDTV and I'm considering purchasing an HDMI-compatible receiver to replace my Yamaha RX-V1.

A friend has provided me with an unbelievable deal (i.e. less than half of retail price) on the Sony STRDA5300ES receiver. I don't usually think of Sony's receivers as top-of-the-line, but I'm pretty impressed by its CNET rating of 8.7.

My question is: Will the Sony receiver pale in comparison to my Yamaha? Is it as good as the CNET editors believe? Does the Sony have enough new features (HMDI, 7.1, others?) to make me forget about the RX-V1 (which I've loved from the moment I installed it).

Thanks,
Scott.

King-0f-Clever

Auditioning
Real Name
Philipp
Scott
Having switched from a sony to a yamaha i gotta say dont do it. the difference in quality is unbelievable. Then again im a noob and dont know much so heh i might be wrong.

Dave>h

Second Unit
Scott,

I have a Yamaha DSP-a1 (one generation removed from the V1) that I am considering replacing and I am curious to see what (if anything) you or members of this board come up with as a replacement.

It might help is you include a list of other equipment, especially speakers, that you have or intend to have hooked up to the receiver.

Regards,

Dave

Prestige Wiring OKC

Auditioning
Real Name
Derek
I would choose Yamaha over Sony any day. Their receivers usually have more watts than others and they sound great. I have installed hundreds of them and have few issues with them as well. A well priced Yamaha receiver with the most bang for your buck is the RXV-661.

keithVANhorn

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Kevin Steinmetz
Do not go Sony.... Anything Yamaha with sound better than the equivalent Sony.
I must add that I have never liked the sound of Sony audio gear. To me they sound like something's just not right. Just not a fan of anything Sony and audio related. Sorry....