PS 2 Toslink Troubles

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Taylor, Sep 18, 2001.

  1. Taylor

    Taylor Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have my PS 2 hooked up to a Yamaha DD/DTS receiver (795A if I remember correctly) with an AR Toslink cable. When I play DD or DTS encoded DVDs, the receiver indicates that the source material is only Pro Logic.
    Do I have a defective cable or am I missing something on the hookup?
    I have a regular DVD player hooked up with a digital optical cable and the DD/DTS functions work fine.
     
  2. Tom Pielech

    Tom Pielech Extra

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 1999
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe you need to go into the PS2 setup menu and make sure you select DD output. Try turning unit on without a disc and then the screen with browser or setup choice comes up. Go into setup and scroll through selections.
    I think this is the problem.
     
  3. AndyVX

    AndyVX Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2000
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    0
    Isn't it normally on by default though?
    Andrew
     
  4. Joel Mack

    Joel Mack Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 1999
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    It wasn't on mine...
    ------------------
    "The internet is a place where people from all over come together to
    bitch about movies and share pornography."
     
  5. Jeff_Hunt

    Jeff_Hunt Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2000
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm also having this problem...
    The menu option for Optical is set to "ON" (otherwise I would have no sound) but I can't seem to get it to play any Dolby Digital or DTS. Is there another setting I'm missing somewhere?
     
  6. ChrisMatson

    ChrisMatson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure you select the DD or DTS track from the DVD's audio menu. DTS is almost never the default soundtrack. I have the Yam HTR-5250 and used the PS2 as my primary DVD player for about 6 months with no troubles. I like my Pioneer DV333 much better...
    -Chris
     
  7. Matty B

    Matty B Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2001
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you get to this menu? I cant find it [​IMG] I have the same problem!
     
  8. Arthur Legardo

    Arthur Legardo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 1999
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  9. Jeff_Hunt

    Jeff_Hunt Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2000
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, Thanks! I think I'll go home for lunch and try it out!
     

Share This Page