What's new

Problem with my new Tosh 65HX81 plus a few more questions. (1 Viewer)

Take into consideration that this is my first widescreen HD-ready TV, as you read this, please realize I am new to some of the terminology. The set was just delivered yesterday and everything seems to be working correctly except for this. When I hook the component inputs on the set to the progressive outputs on my DVD, the screen looks like it splits into 3 vertical sections with each section rolling very fast (thats the best way I can think of describing it). If I hook it to the interlaced outputs on the DVD, it plays fine. I have ruled out the DVD player being the problem by swapping it out with another progressive scan player and the same problem happens. The cable is homemade but I took it to a friends house and hooked it up to his Tosh 65" (the TW series, forget the exact model number) and the cable worked great with both his and my progressive DVD player.

So, I figure it has to be the set unless I am overlooking something stupid. I ordered the set online so my I have to go through Toshiba for support. I had to fax my proof of purchase today so they can make sure its not a refurb before they can send out a local tech and they said verification can take up to a day or two. While I was waiting I thought I would throw the problem out to you guys for any suggestions or guesses as to what the problem could be.