Please help me hook up PC to HDTV (confused)

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Carlo Medina, Aug 6, 2001.

  1. Carlo Medina

    Carlo Medina Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1997
    Messages:
    10,406
    Likes Received:
    619
    Hi All,
    I have the following video card: MSI Geforce 2 Pro with a monitor output and an S-video output. I'm trying to hook it up to my HDTV, a Panasonic PT-47WX49, and by hooking it up via S-Video the quality looks like crap. The PT-47 is an HD ready set, and I don't own a set-top HD receiver.
    Is there some sort of monitor to YPbPr connector that I can buy? Where would be a good place to get one, if such a thing exists?
    I guess I'm maxing out the S-Video signal because when I hook it up it looks like it's hooked up to a regular TV. My available resolutions are only 800x600 or lower, and the TV style can only be set to NTSC or PAL in the properties menu, no HD output via S-Video.
    Can anyone help me get great resolution from this setup? Here's my PC config if it helps: Athlon 850/IBM ATA100 HD/MSI GeForce2 Pro 64MB/ACER DVD-ROM/Windows ME/256MB RAM
    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. brian a

    brian a Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2000
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. Carlo Medina

    Carlo Medina Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1997
    Messages:
    10,406
    Likes Received:
    619
    Yup, that looks like it!
    Damn, another $135 to spend on this stupid addict...er...hobby.
    Oh the pain!
    ------------------
    My dealer of choice (especially if you live in So-Cal, I highly recommend them): www.yawaonline.com

    Click here for their www.audiosurvey.com reviews
     
  4. brian a

    brian a Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2000
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's well worth the cash on this one. HTPC output is outstanding.
    brianca
     
  5. Carlo Medina

    Carlo Medina Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1997
    Messages:
    10,406
    Likes Received:
    619
    But will I also have to buy the PowerStrip program? It looks like the 9A60 only converts 960x540 into 1980i and that's not one of my resolution choices (using GeForce 2 Pro 64MB card and 1070 nVidia drivers).
    This is getting more and more expensive. On the bright side, I'll be able to play Madden on my bigscreen... [​IMG]
    ------------------
    My dealer of choice (especially if you live in So-Cal, I highly recommend them): www.yawaonline.com

    Click here for their www.audiosurvey.com reviews
     
  6. Timon Russo

    Timon Russo Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2000
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm confused - whats the advantage of the device mentioned above, over the usual VGA-to-NTSC converters that everyone seems to sell. Those claim they can do resolutions greater than 800x600 in many cases; is it that they just don't have component outs?
     
  7. Carlo Medina

    Carlo Medina Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1997
    Messages:
    10,406
    Likes Received:
    619
    VGA to NTSC basically gives you Standard Definition Television (480i) resolution. The above device lets you select a computer resolution of 960x540 (you have to have PowerStrip to get this resolution if your graphics card/driver doesn't have it as a default setting) and upconverts it to 1080i. The result will be a near-HD quality rendering on your HDTV or FP.
     

Share This Page