What's new

Newbie trying to add pieces to existing HT system (1 Viewer)

Johann-L

Auditioning
A complete novice here. We are moving from a house we built in October, 1996. When we built, we had a local company send an AV expert out to put together a HT system. He put in an Onkyo TX-SV727 receiver, B&W CC6 center speaker, B&W AS6 subwoofer, and built in B&W left/right main and built in B&W surround speakers (I'm guessing DM 602s and DM 603s), and a Mitsubishi HS-U510 VHS. They also added an Onkyo TX-8410 which was used to play AM/FM and CDs in other zones in the house. I had an unremarkable Sony TV and equally unremarkable Sony CD player.

We are moving to another town, and I am trying to educate myself on what to add to the HT system. We mostly use it to watch movies, though we do listen to CD's on the second Onkyo receiver, mostly in the background. The new house is already built, but not really wired for HT.

I am contemplating upgrading some of the components, while keeping as much as I can. My budget is $5,000 to %7,000. I am leaning towards the following: TV - Toshiba 65HX81. DVD - SD5700. Universal Remote MX-100. I like the B&W speakers I have, but I don't know if I want to buy some more 602s and 603s.

I have general questions as follws:

1. Is my 6 year old technology in the Onkyo receiver, Mitsubishi VHS, B&W center speaker and B&W subwoofer going to be compatible with a new TV, DVD player and universal remote?

2. Can I simply add new left/right main and surround to my existing B&W center and subwoofer?

3. Should I buy new B&W left/right main and surround speakers, or another brand?

4. What speakers should we use for the other zones, including outside?

5. Any negative or positive thoughts on the Toshibe TV and DVD?

6. Any negative or positive thoughts on the overall plan?

All positive and negative comments are welcomed. Thanks for your help.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
Hi Johann,

First, welcome to the Forum!