What's new

Need some opinion on a CD player purchase...(newbie) (1 Viewer)

Arnie_A

Agent
Hello all. I'm a newbie and this is my first post in the forum. I have a small dilemma. My H/K FL8380 CD changer just gave way after 3 months of use. It couldn't ready ANY CD that I put in it. I'll bring it to Circuit City tonight to get it fixed (Manuf Warranty + Extended Warranty).

After researching the FL8380's reliability, it seems it's common for that model to have problems. This prompted me to research other CD players.

My setup is for 90% music in a small living room.

This is my equipment list:

Marantz SR6200
B&W DM601 S3
Velodyne CHT-10

Bose VCS-10 center
Bose AM-3 cubes as surrounds -- Again, I don't care much about multichannel cause I listen to 2ch music about 90-95% of the time.

Now my question comes: Should I look for a CD player that has a good DAC or get a simple one like Sony and use the receiver's DAC?

If I get a NAD 541i or Arcam 62T, I'm not sure if the receiver's amplifier frequency response will be limiting music quality or the CD player's DAC (most likely the former).

If I get a Sony 222ES or Denon 370, I'm sure that the receiver's DAC will be the limiting factor with music quality.

My budget is up to $500.

I've already searched the board on CD player recommendations and I already have an idea. I just want to verify the route that I should go --

Get a reliable CD player with a good DAC and use the Rx's analog inputs

- or -

Get a reliable "regular" CD player with whatever DAC and use the Rx's DAC?

What do you guys think? Thanks in advance for the inputs.

Adil M

Supporting Actor
The HK cd player has a disk reading problem consistently.
Your dilemma is very difficult/loaded and as of yet I have always preferred using the cd player a transport in my limited experience.