What's new

My X-Files dilemma, Agent Scully (1 Viewer)

HowardPaul

Stunt Coordinator
I'm new to the X-Files and working my way through Season 1. I'd heard so many good things about the show that I decided to give it a try.
Right now, having just watched Lazarus, episode 3 on Disk 4, I wonder how much longer I can tolerate Scully's dogged reluctance to accept anything that does not fall within the realm of the rational and scientific. Her stubbornness is so frustrating to behold. It seems that no matter how flagrant the evidence supporting the 'supernatural', she plays the doubting Thomas to the point of appearing just plain stupid.
Does this ever get better? Her rigidity makes we want to pull my hair out. Does she ever change? I don't think I can take more of her denying and arguing about what is ever so obvious to Mulder and to the viewers. Truly, in several of these early episodes she looks like a rigid bonehead.
Tell me she changes...that she becomes more open.....
How

Louis C

Supporting Actor
The mind of Scully is sometimes a scary place... Welcome to the world of Scully-land. A place where Da-Nile runs deep.

Wait until you get to the end of Season 1! You will be certain she believes, but then prepare yourself for even more frustration.

But don't be mad. This is just a part of what makes the show interesting albeit frustrating and unreal at times.

Linda Thompson

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Linda
Speaking in rather broad terms here so as not to spoil any of the rest of the seasons for you...long story short, yes, Scully does eventually change. In fact, there comes a point in the series at which it could be argued that she is taking the Mulder-esque role of the "believer" vis-a-vis another agent who is more the Scully-esque "skeptic"...

GuruAskew

Senior HTF Member
You'd better get used to it, even when she takes on the "believer" role in season 8 (opposite John Doggett's "skeptic") she's still pretty hesitant and reluctant.