I've been using the same light bulb for 10+ years

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Steve Enemark, Oct 30, 2001.

1. Steve Enemark

Steve Enemark Second Unit

Is this normal? I've had a small desklamp on my nightstand that I use every night for 30-60 minutes as I read in bed. I've used the lamp since I left home for college in 1990.
    The lamp used to belong to my sister, who used it when she went to college in the mid-eighties. I don't know if she ever replaced the bulb, but I'll be sure to ask her next chance I get.
    Over ten years later, the little bulb still hasn't burned out! What's going on here?
    PS: my sister taped a newspaper headline onto the lamp before I got it, saying "'Beer Drinkers Are Healthier Than Anybody', Study Says". [​IMG]
    ------------------
    "Always make the audience suffer as much as possible" - Alfred Hitchcock

2. Bill Cowmeadow

Bill Cowmeadow Second Unit

We have a 'Sharp Carousel' microwave that is 19 years old. Knock on wood, Its working as well as the day I bought it - and it still has the same light bulb too. My wife says that the day it quits, we will immediately go and get another.
    Bill

3. Scott Merryfield

Scott Merryfield Executive Producer
    Supporter

So, now that you bragged about this online, you can count on that light bulb burning out any day now. [​IMG]
    ------------------
    My DVD Collection
    AFI 100 Films to watch: 40 -> 2

4. MichaelPe

MichaelPe Screenwriter

Scott's right. Go buy a light bulb NOW. [​IMG]

5. SteveGon

SteveGon Executive Producer

That's nothing! I haven't had to change my underwear for the last twenty years! [​IMG]
    ------------------
    My top ten movies that need to be on dvd:
    1. Akira Kurosawa's Dreams 2. Freaks 3. Men With Guns 4. The Ninth Configuration 5. The Reflecting Skin 6. Santa Sangre 7. Treasure of the Sierra Madre 8. Voyager 9. White Heat 10. Wings of Desire

6. Jay H

Jay H Producer

Jay