What's new

Got my SP 4805/X-Box do progressive? (1 Viewer)

Well this is my first projector and I am amazed!!!! I have been playing my X-Box all night!!! The colors and clarity are AMAZING! My question is though.......does the X-Box do progressive scan? Anyone know? I have soem extra cables to connet a seperate DVD player but if I can do it through my X-Box since its allready hooked through component inputs then I would like to do that.

Jack Gilvey

Senior HTF Member
A stock XBox with the HD pack will do 480p, 720p, or 1080i for games depending on what the game supports. It plays back movies in 480i only.
While a good 480i input is all the 4805 needs to provide an outstanding picture due to its excellent de-interlacer, the XBox is apparently not all that great a DVD player and you'd do well to get a dedicated one to maximize the 4805's potential. I'd get a DVI player, that way you can leave the XBox plugged into the component inputs.

Paul-D

Stunt Coordinator
I'm glad to hear about this pj with XBox. I am getting this pj in the near future. My setup will be as follows though: Digital Cable/HDTV through DVI, DVD and XBox via Component through a component switcher, and VCR through composite. I'm looking forward to seeing everything hooked up in the near future.
What screen do you have?

Jack: Thank you I will take your advice on that

Paul: It came with a 76 inch screen. Its is actually made my InFocuse which suprised me. Or it at least has the InFocus badging in it. I will mount that later today. Right now I am projecting onto my bedroom wall and the picture is still mind numbing. X-Box over this projector is insane! Colors are vivid and the clarity is extremely sharp. I still can't believe how far projectors have come the last few years. You will love this projector when you get it. I can't to watch my first DVD on it tomorrow.

Jack Gilvey

Senior HTF Member
Oh yeah! I've been playing SW Battlefronts the last few nights which is in 480p widescreen. Too cool. :)