Friend's Internet Worked Yesterday, Dead Now. Help!

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Chuck C, Oct 26, 2003.

  1. Chuck C

    Chuck C Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    1
    My buddy has a computer with Win98 1st edition hooked up to a cable modem via a router. It was in need of maintenance, so I installed spyware removing programs, reduced the number of items on startup using a selective startup, scandisc, disk cleanup, windows 98 updates from their site, and defrag.

    This morning, the IE returns a cannot display error. It's plugged in correctly. I've tried a million things thru the Internet options menu.
     
  2. Chuck C

    Chuck C Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    1
    guys dont even bother with this one....cuz i understand it could be anything. I just spent two hours on the phone with various tech support including someone with broken english. no good
     
  3. Asher

    Asher Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had a similar problem with my xp set up. I went into the command line and released then renewed my ip address. Go to google and search ipconfig. In xp you type ipconfig/release then type ipconfig/renew. It's probable different for your operating system but this might help you.
     
  4. nolesrule

    nolesrule Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    3,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    Real Name:
    Joe Kauffman
    In Win98, the command is "winipcfg", and it loads an app to release and renew, rather than being commandline.
     
  5. Chuck C

    Chuck C Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks guys, I tried that and no good

    pinging the router and even a direct modem-to-computer connection returns 4 replies, but still no internet. I know the computer is getting a signal, but the guy I spoke with tried it all and said the Ethernet card might be dead. There are three lights on the router per port and all should be lit if working correctly...the last light '100' doesn't light up for this one.

    This leads me to believe that the computer is not getting any bandwidth due to a faulty card or cable. Does this sound accurate to anyone?
     
  6. Andrew W

    Andrew W Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2001
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, 100 will probably not be lit unless you have a 100 Mbit interface active at BOTH ends of the connections.
    10 should be lit for a cable modem and the the 'link' light should be lit when the cable is plugged in.
    Network cards rarely break. It is very likely a config problem.
     
  7. Andrew Pratt

    Andrew Pratt Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 1998
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try unpluggin the modem and routers power cords for a minute plug them back in. It could just be a quirk in the router or it lost its IP address from the DCHP server.
     
  8. John_Bonner

    John_Bonner Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  9. Chuck C

    Chuck C Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    1
    i'm going to call road runner and have them refresh the connection with the faulty computer hooked directly to the modem
     
  10. Chuck C

    Chuck C Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    1
    resetting modem and renewing the IP did not work...next test is a faulty cable and network card
     
  11. Chuck C

    Chuck C Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,237
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've decided to resort to reinstalling Win 98 simply because everytime I make a change to the settings, it says "scanning Windows 98 CD-ROM" but there is no disc in there.
     

Share This Page