What's new

Fastest processor I could install? (1 Viewer)

Jay H

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jay
I have a Shuttle HOT-637/P mobo with a 440LX chipset, AGP port and 128MBs of RAM. right now I have a Pentium II-300Mhz running on it now. The fastest system bus is 66Mhz, just curious what's the fastest processor I can buy and still run on it? My infosheet on it lists a 333Mhz but perhaps that's just a little outdated. BTW, I have tried running it at 333Mhz but I get alot of IPFs and stuff..
Not sure if it's worth it or not, I'm guessing its not, how much would an old PII-333Mhz chip be. I forget what kind of socket it's on, but a rough estimate would suffice.
Jay

Jay H

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jay
Thanks, does my multiplier have anything to do with this? According to my documentation, the highest mulitplier is 5.5 and my system bus is 66mhz, that makes roughly 366Mhz. Now I'm not an expert at this CPU upgrades, but does that mean the highest CPU speed my mobo supports is 366 or is it just based on your system bus speed, which in my case, would be 66mhz, so I could get a 450Mhz cpu chip or something like that as long as that uses a 66Mhz bus and that would work? Perhaps I might brush up on a FAQ or something..
Of course, I just checked some prices on some CPUs....
eek.gif

Jay

Kelley_B

Senior HTF Member
Have you checked Shuttles site??? If they don't have anything listed there then 333Mhz is the fastest you will get. You can only run processors that use the 66Mhz bus and nobody makes those anymore. Another thing is that your Mobo is Slot 1, there are no more Slot 1 chips. But still the board is a 440LX, and MOBOs are cheap, as are processors, ram, etc.....Why not build a nice little Athlon system like this:
Mobo: Shuttle AK31A - $85
Proc: AMD Athlon 1Ghz 266Mhz FSB - $77
RAM: Crucial 256MB DDR PC2100 - $37

Jay H

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jay