What's new

Fake colors on the restoration process? (1 Viewer)

Real Name
Benjamin
Since I am not an expert in this area, could someone please explain to me how these digital restorations are is done?

I've been looking into DVD Beaver comparisons and noticed that they have removed artifacts like EE and others from the negatives, but sometimes the colors are too much vivid or false to me.

I mean, how is it possible that the previous picture is white and the new one is blue (Poltergeist shot)?

I will pick you three examples.

Poltergeist, 25th edition and the old copy:

dvdbeaver.com/film2/DVDReviews33/poltergeist.htm

Clockwork Orange - SE and Non-Anamorphic Edition:

dvdbeaver.com/film/DVDReviews16/clockwork_orange_dvd_review.htm

Matrix (1999)

dvdbeaver.com/film/DVDCompare10/the_matrix_.htm

If I am not mistaken, the correct restoration should make the skin of people not look false like the old editions, when it looks like they were in the beach too much time.

The palette of colors should look like original, not enhanced on the brightness or contrast if this was not the intention of the producers, but sometimes this is not adjusted properly on the restoration process.

What I can't understand is why that Clockwork Orange SE picture is smoother than the first and still is better from the perspective of the reviewer. Did I miss something here?

See Matrix for example. The third shot from DVD Beaver. We have a green picture on the new Ultimate Edition. Those green colors were seen on the theatrical release? Or they were just a modification made by Warner to make the movie look more green than it was before, on the previous DVD edition, VHS, TV broadcasts, etc.