What's new

CD players, Receivers, and DACs (1 Viewer)

Jim_T

Grip
Hi all! Forgive my ignorace, I'm rather new at this, but from what I gather, a DAC is a digital to analog converter and it changes the digital signals from sources like CDs and MDs to analog signals that can be output through my speakers...is this correct? Now, I've seen a number of different specifications for DACs in various components, and I must admit I really don't know what makes a superior DAC. Is there a list somewhere ranking various DACs used by different manufacturers?
I ask all of this because I'm trying to build myself a nice HT/stereo system. I've ordered (before all the S&V hubbub began) the Japanese version of the Marantz SR7200, called the PS7200 here, which is essentially the same but doesn't have a tuner. I'm wondering how the DACs in this receiver stack up against those in some other CD/MD players/recorders, most specifically the Marantz CD6000-OSE or Sony MDX-D5C. If the DACs in my receiver are considered quite good, I could buy a cheaper CD player and just let the receiver handle the D-A conversion, right?
And if it's a case of just listening and judging for myself, can this be done through the headphone jack of the various CD units, or would I probably not be able to notice a difference using headphones? I ask because the stores I've visited don't really have everything set up for easy test listening - for speakers, yes, but they don't really have all their CD players hooked up and ready to go. Anyway, thanks very much in advance if you can help.
Jim

KeithH

Senior HTF Member