What's new

Are the Anchor Bay Hammer double features coming out on Tuesday? (1 Viewer)

Amazon has them listed as being available this Tuesday (the 25th), but DVDPlanet has them on the 9th of December. I have a number of them ordered via Amazon, and they have not - as of yet - been charged to my account or shipped.

I wouldn't normally be quite so neurotic as to seek out the advice of strangers on the internet, but I heard tell that Anchor Bay was only producing 3000 copies of each set. Can this be right? What does every Borders get one copy of each, and that's that?

I'm JUST getting into this Hammer stuff. Fantastic so far.

soop.spoon

Supporting Actor
btw... the Anchor Bay website does not mention the "3000 copies" rumor. They just say they'll be available for a limited time.

Finding these sets at DeepDiscountDVD was quite a chore... Quatermass was spelled "Quartermass" and many only listed one of the films in the description.

Anyone know what the packaging will look like?
I'd also like to know whether or not they will contain the original poster art like the individual releases. Anchor Bay really sucks at promoting upcoming releases these days.

Paul Arnette

Senior HTF Member
I too was wondering this very thing.

I have all ten on order through www.dvdempire.com and, while they list an 11/25/2003 release date, I have not received a shipping notice to date. In fact, I just noticed that the status of each of these discs has been change to 'Out-Of-Stock' and it now denotes the product is on order with the manufacturer.

I had not heard that the discs were limited, and I certainly hope that is not the case because, even while these are supposedly being redone by Blue Underground, the price is too good to pass up for another fledgling Hammer horror fan. :)

soop.spoon

Supporting Actor
It's also an easy way for those of us with defective copies of The Witches and Frankenstein Created Woman to get repressed discs.