What's new

A few questions re: Demo disks (THX, DD, DTS etc...) (1 Viewer)

KenLeBlanc

Stunt Coordinator
I was looking to get some info on any of the demo disks out there. I'm a newbie and looking to buy a few of these but before I get ripped off I'd like to find out what is legit and possibly value of disks.

It seems like there are 9? disks of DTS demos. Does DD release something similar ? What would you guys recommend be a good disk(s) that aren't priced too crazy ?

I found a disk on e-bay that contains a lot of trailers and intro's but it's a decent price which makes me wonder if it's legit. The seller's id is hometheatersignsanddemos.

Link deleted by administrato. DO NOT POST LINKS TO EBAY AUCTIONS! - MR

Even though seller says that this is not a copy I'm curious...

Has anyone bought from this seller or better yet, does anyone have this DVD (DOLBY DIGITAL DTS ULTIMATE DEMONSTRATION DVD DEMO SET) ?

Jeff Whitford

Screenwriter
Lets just say that in most cases if the disc is advertised as having DD,DTS,THX demos all on the same discs its a bootleg. Like Kelly said.
I own movie demo wise and they're not FS/FT
DTS demo discs 3-7 and am looking for 1,2,8&9
THX The Ultimate demo disc
THX Surround EX demo disc

KenLeBlanc

Stunt Coordinator
Ok thanks for the tip. Are these still any good ? Is the video/sound quality as good ?

I guess I'll create a post on the buy/sell/trade looking to buy some demo disks. Is there a website where I can see which trailers/intros each disk contains ?

It's too bad that guys like this can get away with making DVDR's and selling them for $25 each. And he even states in his auction that they are not copies.

"This DVD set does not contain scenes taken and ripped from DVD's, only original theatrical trailers