What's new

$7K Projector Budget (1 Viewer)

PSYLNT2UHD

Premium
Real Name
Michael Rozman
I'm researching projectors leaning more towards Laser, 4K models. Nothing is in stone. My HTRoom is 16'6" from the projector lens to the Display wall and the Display screen will be 107" wide. Which models would you be considering? One model that I like is the VPL-XW5000ES. I'm no expert and beginning to appreciate the technology and differences but not sure I could really differentiate yet aside from reviews and obvious necessities why I might go with a JVC, Sony or other.

John Dirk

Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
JOHN
I'm researching projectors leaning more towards Laser, 4K models. Nothing is in stone. My HTRoom is 16'6" from the projector lens to the Display wall and the Display screen will be 107" wide. Which models would you be considering? One model that I like is the VPL-XW5000ES. I'm no expert and beginning to appreciate the technology and differences but not sure I could really differentiate yet aside from reviews and obvious necessities why I might go with a JVC, Sony or other.
You need to provide a little more information.

• What screen size [aspect ratio] do you have?
  • Do you watch mostly movies or a fair amount of TV/sports in this room?
  • Do you care about 3D?
  • Do you use a ceiling mount?
  • Is your room light-controlled. Can you make it completely dark when needed?
  • Are you most concerned with HDR performance or contrast.

smithbrad

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Brad
I would also add, how often will you be able to swing buying another projector at $7K?