What's new

4:3, 16:9 or Native (1 Viewer)

Mark_AK

Auditioning
Ok I'm new to the Home Theater stuff and have a question. I just got an InFocus ScreenPlay 4800, I know the new version is out but I got the 4800 on a trade.

What mode should I run the projector in? I've been messing with the setting with both broadcast TV and DVD's with 1.85 and 2.35 Aspect ratio's. After messing with them I am more confused then ever.

For broadcast TV I can get a much larger image with the projector set to 4:3 but when I switch to a DVD and change the aspect ratio to 16:9 the image aspect ratio it off. The only way it looks right is when I run it in native mode.

But running the projector in native mode it seems like I'm not useing the full potental(sp) of the projector.

Please help?

Mark_AK

Auditioning
I don't have a screen yet, but I plan on making a 16:9 screen, I just don't know what size to make it.

George_W_K

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
George
I had the X1 (same as 4800) until I upgraded to the 4805, and I ran it on a 16 X 9 screen. I had my DVD player output set to 16:9, and the same for the projector's setting. That is how I watched 95% of my DVD's. However, I sometimes had to switch to 4:3 for one of my few non-anamorphic DVDs.

If I watched regular television through the VCR I had the X1 set on Native so it would have a 4:3 picture inside of my screen, with bars on the sides. If I ran it in 4:3 mode, it would show above and below my screen on the wall. And if the show I was watching was shown in 16X9, like ER or Crossing Jordan, I'd put the projector in 4:3 mode to fill my screen. Those are the SD broadcasts as my HDTV tuner doesn't pick up signals too well. I think it has to do with the way my antennae is mounted.

I hope that makes sense and helps you out. :)

Mark_AK

Auditioning
Thanks that post helped alot.

Also after playing with my projector for a day now I think I figured out the issues I was having.

Jim Mcc

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jim