-

Photo
- - - - -

HTF DVD Review: A Muppets Christmas: Letters To Santa

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
No replies to this topic

#1 of 1 OFFLINE   Todd Erwin

Todd Erwin

Screenwriter

• 2,235 posts
  • LocationOrange County, CA

Posted December 04 2009 - 06:12 AM

http://static.hometh...YJGd-SamL.jpg">

A Muppets Christmas: Letters To Santa

Studio: Walt Disney Studios Home Entertainment

US DVD Release Date: September 29, 2009

Television Broadcast Year: 2008

Rated: Not Rated

Running Time: 56 minutes

Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1 anamorphic widescreen

Audio: Dolby Digital 5.1 (English)

Subtitles: English (SDH)

Movie: 3 out of 5

I often consider myself a child of the 1970s and early 1980s (I graduated high school in 1983), and Jim Henson’s Muppets have always had a place in my heart. Henson and his team were masters at puppetry, creating such beloved characters as Kermit The Frog, Oscar The Grouch, Cookie Monster, Big Bird, Miss Piggy, etc, out of felt and ping pong balls. Their first big break was on Sesame Street, and after a brief stint on Saturday Night Live during the first season, they hit the big time with the syndicated variety half-hour The Muppet Show, and then transitioned to the big screen with 1979’s The Muppet Movie, which may have been at the height of their popularity. With the exceptions of John Denver and the Muppets: A Christmas Together and The Muppets Take Manhattan, none of their projects have come close to capturing that magic from their television series and first feature film. In 2004, The Walt Disney Company acquired the Muppets from The Jim Henson Company, and several attempts have been made to re-launch this once-lucrative franchise.