-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Powerline Ethernet Adapters


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1 of 8 Chuck King

Chuck King

    Agent

  • 28 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 10 1999

Posted May 16 2009 - 01:08 AM

Has anyone had luck (good or bad) using powerline ethernet adapters for connecting their blu-ray deck to the internet? I'm considering upgrading my player to take advantage of BD-Live and pondering my alternatives for getting it on-line.

#2 of 8 Stephen_J_H

Stephen_J_H

    Producer

  • 3,960 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 30 2003
  • Real Name:Stephen J. Hill
  • LocationNorth of the 49th

Posted May 16 2009 - 03:22 AM

I've toyed with this idea, as my HT setup is in the basement and my home network is wireless. My only other alternative is to get a wireless bridge, but they're hard to come by and about the same price. It's annoying, and it took forever for any BD player other than the PS3 to have wireless networking. I'm still not setup for BDLive, becuase I need a solution that will plug into both my BDP-S350 and my HD-A30.
"My opinion is that (a) anyone who actually works in a video store and does not understand letterboxing has given up on life, and (b) any customer who prefers to have the sides of a movie hacked off should not be licensed to operate a video player."-- Roger Ebert

#3 of 8 Michael Reuben

Michael Reuben

    Studio Mogul

  • 21,769 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 12 1998

Posted May 16 2009 - 04:28 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck King
Has anyone had luck (good or bad) using powerline ethernet adapters for connecting their blu-ray deck to the internet? I'm considering upgrading my player to take advantage of BD-Live and pondering my alternatives for getting it on-line.
I'm using a set of Netgear HDX111's, which are doing an acceptable job. I'm also using them for my HD TiVo.

I'd previously tried with the slower Netgear XE 102, and it wasn't sufficient, because BD Live is pretty slow as it is.

The biggest unknown with powerline networking is how your own home wiring will respond. I have outlets that work well with it and outlets that don't. You just don't know until you try.
COMPLETE list of my disc reviews.       HTF Rules / 200920102011 Film Lists

#4 of 8 dk21

dk21

    Auditioning

  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: May 17 2009

Posted May 17 2009 - 09:32 AM

We have IPTV from our phone company. To get TV to one of our rooms, I was kind of surprised that they used Ethernet over power lines. They put in Pluglink AV adapters which are meant for A/V applications. They said that they have had great luck with them. It has been hassle-free for me.

#5 of 8 Aedave

Aedave

    Auditioning

  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 17 2009

Posted May 19 2009 - 06:35 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen_J_H
I've toyed with this idea, as my HT setup is in the basement and my home network is wireless. My only other alternative is to get a wireless bridge, but they're hard to come by and about the same price. It's annoying, and it took forever for any BD player other than the PS3 to have wireless networking. I'm still not setup for BDLive, becuase I need a solution that will plug into both my BDP-S350 and my HD-A30.

Have you considered getting a Linksys WRT-54G router and flashing it with custom firmware?

WRT54g can be found for cheap just be cautious about the version you get see dd-wrt.com for more info.
DD-WRT for firmware, I have been using it on 2 routers.



DCPosted Image

#6 of 8 Stephen_J_H

Stephen_J_H

    Producer

  • 3,960 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 30 2003
  • Real Name:Stephen J. Hill
  • LocationNorth of the 49th

Posted May 20 2009 - 09:57 AM

My current setup uses a Siemens wireless access point (combo DSL modem/router/wireless router). I'll have to look @ it later, but I don't think DD-WRT is supported. I'll definitely look into it once I switch ISPs.
"My opinion is that (a) anyone who actually works in a video store and does not understand letterboxing has given up on life, and (b) any customer who prefers to have the sides of a movie hacked off should not be licensed to operate a video player."-- Roger Ebert

#7 of 8 Scott Merryfield

Scott Merryfield

    Executive Producer

  • 10,436 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 16 1998
  • LocationMichigan

Posted May 21 2009 - 12:10 AM

Another option would be a wireless print server. I am using a Netgear print server that includes four ethernet switch ports along with two USB ports for printers. I just ignore the USB ports and have the print server connected wirelessly to my main DLink wireless router. The Netgear device even supports WPA2 authentication, and the device only cost $30.

This gives me network connectivity for both my Sony BD player and Pioneer Elite receiver.

#8 of 8 Adam Barratt

Adam Barratt

    Screenwriter

  • 2,344 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 16 1998

Posted May 21 2009 - 05:41 PM

I had a Netcomm NP285 85Mbps HomePlug pair between my Pioneer BDP-95HD Blu-ray player and a PC/router. I used it to serve media files, and it seemed to work fine (was also good for upgrading HD DVD firmware and for online HD DVD material) until I bought a local storage system.

I also have an older 14Mbps HomePlug system connected to a laptop in another room. It's slower, but very stable (unlike the WiFi I've used in the past) and is left on 24/7. No problems so far, and my household wiring certainly isn't state-of-the-art (more like 70-year-old and dusty).

Adam





Forum Nav Content I Follow