-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Geforce 8800 GT resolutions


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 Nathan Eddy

Nathan Eddy

    Second Unit

  • 262 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 22 2004

Posted June 22 2008 - 02:25 PM

I got a Panasonic plasma, TH-50PX80U, and I'm going to hook my computer up to it to play some games. As the title says, I'm running the Geforce 8800 GT, BFG over clocked version. It has two DVI outputs, but the TV doesn't have a DVI input. I'm ordering a DVI > HDMI cable, but for tonight I want to hook up via the S video connection. Now the card came with an "HDTV adapter," which is a 7 pin (not the old 4 pin) S video connector on one end, and a component connection on the other. From what I've been reading, component video can only output in the 500-550 lines of resolution range, but other sources have said they can go all the way to 1080p (which is strange, I thought that's why you needed HDMI).

So what resolution am I getting out of this connection? What does the card output, and what will the TV accept through component connections? I've looked everywhere, but can't find the info. Or find contradictory info.

Thanks!

#2 of 6 Nathan Eddy

Nathan Eddy

    Second Unit

  • 262 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 22 2004

Posted June 22 2008 - 05:20 PM

Well, it seems I didn't have to go to all this trouble of researching. I plugged it up and checked the INFO button on the remote. This connection was inputting 1080i. So I turned by card's settings down to 1280x768. It wouldn't do the 1366x768; this was as close as I could get to native resolution. Once I did that, my COD Modern Warfare must have detected these settings, because that was the highest resolution I could set it in the game options (it has gone higher with different settings in the past, but I didn't play around with that). It's a shame that this card, which has received so much praise, can't do my native resolution. Is that possibly a driver issue? I need to download the latest driver from last month, so if that fixes it I'll report back. I know a lot of people use this card for HTPC, and this is certainly a popular TV. Anyone else gaming on it?

The game looks great, btw. Playing on my couch with my surround system was a blast. Screw consoles. Posted Image

#3 of 6 Parker Clack

Parker Clack

    Executive Producer

  • 12,087 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 30 1997
  • Real Name:Parker
  • LocationKansas City, MO

Posted June 23 2008 - 01:56 AM

Nathan:

I was able to get the higher res settings that I wanted for my ATI in my HTPC by downloading the latest Catalyst drivers as the ones that came with the card didn't have them. I haven't used the Nvidia but I am sure you will probably have the same results with the newest drivers.

Currently I am running an HTPC using an ATI HD2400XT so I can use my Blu-ray/HD DVD combo drive into a Panasonic TH-50PX75U which is basically the same panel that you have and using the HDMI makes all the difference in the world.

Parker

"I tried to get my medical records from the company but they say they

are confidential and can only be released to other insurance companies,

pharmaceutical​ reps, suppliers of medical equipment and for some

reason the RNC."
 


#4 of 6 Guest__*

Guest__*
  • Join Date: --

Posted October 24 2009 - 06:02 AM

Parker,

I have the 50px75u with a xfx geforce 8800 gs, but I am having trouble getting the TV to display the PC desktop on the screen.  It shows the desktop but it hangs off the screen about an inch all the way around.  I have updated nvidia drivers, with no luck.  Every resolution i set it at does the same thing.  What resolutions are you able to show on the 50px75u? and do you have any issues with it not fitting properly on the screen?  I appreciate any help you can give me.

Thanks,

Jim

#5 of 6 Eric_L

Eric_L

    Screenwriter

  • 1,991 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 02 2002

Posted October 25 2009 - 12:26 AM

Most TVs will 'over size' the image (I forget the actual term) on the screen.   This is to hide the edges.   I believe there is a setting in your TV that will adjust this.   I don't believe this is a video card issue. 


#6 of 6 Guest__*

Guest__*
  • Join Date: --

Posted October 25 2009 - 01:35 PM

I've looked through the settings on the TV, but there is nothing to adjust it.  I'm hoping parker can shed some light on this since he is using the same TV I have.