Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Yamaha 3800, PS3, HDMI & Dolby TrueHD light?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
10 replies to this topic

#1 of 11 Orlando

Orlando

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 206 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 01 2000

Posted September 30 2007 - 03:46 PM

I have a New Yamaha Receiver RX-V3800 hooked up to a PS3 by HDMI. I was trying out the remastered Fifth Element Blu-ray with the Dolby TrueHD selected. Based on what I found in set-up searchs I set the PS3 to do Bitstream. But when the sound plays back the 3800 display only says Dolby and the Dolby TrueHD light still dark. Can anybody tell my what I am doing wrong? I thought the PS3 with the updates was supposed to output the TrueHD bitstream, correct?

#2 of 11 Jack Gilvey

Jack Gilvey

    Producer

  • 4,952 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 13 1999

Posted October 01 2007 - 01:50 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Orlando
I thought the PS3 with the updates was supposed to output the TrueHD bitstream, correct?

Not that I've heard. With the player decoding, however, the only thing you're missing out on is the light. Granted, that light ain't cheap...
SVS Customer Service
http://www.svsound.com
sales@svsound.com
techsupport@svsound.com

#3 of 11 Orlando

Orlando

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 206 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 01 2000

Posted October 01 2007 - 08:23 AM

Well I guess that is my problem. I thought I read somewhere that the bitstream was now working. But I have not be able to confirm it since.

Thanks

#4 of 11 Shane Martin

Shane Martin

    Producer

  • 6,017 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 26 1999

Posted October 01 2007 - 02:29 PM

Bitstream doesn't work on the PS3.

It only works on the A35 Toshiba and the Samsung BDP1400.

#5 of 11 Orlando

Orlando

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 206 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 01 2000

Posted October 01 2007 - 02:37 PM

Thanks, there are so many rumors of the PS3 just waiting for a firmware upgrade to enable it to work.

#6 of 11 Jack Gilvey

Jack Gilvey

    Producer

  • 4,952 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 13 1999

Posted October 02 2007 - 12:29 AM

It's my understanding that the hardware is simply not capable. Like much of the 1.3 standard, bitstream transmission is apparently an optional, not required, capability.
SVS Customer Service
http://www.svsound.com
sales@svsound.com
techsupport@svsound.com

#7 of 11 mastermaybe

mastermaybe

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 54 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 07 2007

Posted October 02 2007 - 03:35 AM

be sure to remember to switch your ps3 over to pcm to get the DTHD. If you keep it on the bitstream, you'll only be getting the d-digital as you've discovered.

james

#8 of 11 Orlando

Orlando

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 206 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 01 2000

Posted October 02 2007 - 02:44 PM

Yeah James Thanks, Now like alot of other people after buying Silver Surfer today am hoping that Sony comes out with DTS Master support soon.

#9 of 11 mastermaybe

mastermaybe

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 54 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 07 2007

Posted October 03 2007 - 01:35 AM

Its embarrassing that this once $600, state-of-the-art machine possesses neither bitstream output (like almost every component known to man at this point) or DTS-HD altogether. Now sony can enjoy the fruits of their labor and deal with the millions and millions of less-savvy consumers who are/will be bombarding every resource known to man (including this forum) as to why their $1000 receiver wont light up with a TRU-HD logo when HD material is present (a perfectly reasonable query, BTW). This is no slam on you orlando, as you seem at least as technologically competent as 99.7% of the populace.

While I'm certainly not a "techy", and do not necessarily know the cost or the difficulty of the implementation of this "technology", I still find it absurd that it was either passed by or overlooked altogether (much of what I've read from people in the know dispels the rumour that the ps3's hardware is incapable of either feature, btw) Now there are whisperings of a pre-christmas arrival of at least DTS-HD...that's funny, cause' the more time that passes without an update, the more I believe that it will never happen.
hold your breath and let me know how it works out if you're still alive.

james

#10 of 11 AndrewW

AndrewW

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 141 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 21 2001

Posted October 05 2007 - 02:05 AM

Can't answer your question, but how are you liking that Yamaha? I have the 3000 and was wanting to upgrade soon. Thanks.

#11 of 11 Orlando

Orlando

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 206 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 01 2000

Posted October 05 2007 - 03:30 PM

I'm loving it so far. I only did a quick set-up but it sounds great. I'm still building the room that it is going into so I'm really busy with that.