Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Firmware v2.0 now available -- adds TrueHD 5.1, fixes 720p output


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
125 replies to this topic

#41 of 126 OFFLINE   Ken_F

Ken_F

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 136 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 13 1998

Posted August 26 2006 - 03:01 AM

Mark,

It turns out that the network / Internet update for firmware 2.0 hasn't yet been enabled for the RCA HD-DVD players. It should be in the next week or so.

If you don't want to wait,you can download the firmware to a CD and update that way.

#42 of 126 OFFLINE   Tim Glover

Tim Glover

    Lead Actor



  • 7,681 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 12 1999
  • Real Name:Tim Glover

Posted August 26 2006 - 03:51 AM

Somehow I thought before this firmware upgrade that TrueHD was only for 7.1 setups. I'm an idiot. Posted Image

Glad to hear members report on Phantom's sound mix. Posted Image

#43 of 126 OFFLINE   MarkA

MarkA

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 159 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 23 1999

Posted August 26 2006 - 04:51 AM

Ken F:

Where exactly do I go to do that and how?
Thanks much, I really appreciate the help!

Mark

#44 of 126 OFFLINE   Paul.S

Paul.S

    Producer



  • 3,814 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 29 2000
  • Real Name:Paul
  • LocationHollywood, California

Posted August 26 2006 - 05:49 AM

LOL.

MarkA: Phil I. just gave you the answer to your question in his post #40, immediately preceding your asking.

#45 of 126 OFFLINE   MarkA

MarkA

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 159 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 23 1999

Posted August 26 2006 - 06:56 AM

Ok, I've downloaded the 2.0 but the True HD sound is not as good as the Dolby Digital 5.1.
Do I need a receiver with an HDMI input to get True HD sound?
Thanks once again.

#46 of 126 OFFLINE   Steve Tannehill

Steve Tannehill

    Producer



  • 5,535 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 06 1997
  • Real Name:Steve Tannehill
  • LocationDFW

Posted August 26 2006 - 07:02 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkA
Ok, I've downloaded the 2.0 but the True HD sound is not as good as the Dolby Digital 5.1.
Do I need a receiver with an HDMI input to get True HD sound?
Thanks once again.
As long as your receiver has 5.1 discrete analog inputs, properly calibrated with the speaker settings in your player and receiver, you are covered.

I doubt the player-generated DTS signal over toslink would work as well.

- Steve

#47 of 126 OFFLINE   Paul Hillenbrand

Paul Hillenbrand

    Screenwriter



  • 1,269 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 16 1998
  • Real Name:Paul Hillenbrand

Posted August 26 2006 - 08:11 AM

FYI:

Warning to those when using the 2.0 software with a video processor and certain displays/projectors:
There are reported issues with this v2.0 software!

HDCP and DVI issues are being reported with the Toshiba A1 v2.0, when used in conjunction with a video processor like the Lumagen and displays/front projectors like the Sony Ruby.

Currently, the changes will be permanent: (i.e. You cannot install a past version to go back/correct it.

For those that may have a concern: http://www.avsforum.....&
Avatar: "The Annunciation to the Shepherds" Painting by Nicolas Berchem (1680-1683)
BD 3D, BD, HD DVD, DVD collection


#48 of 126 OFFLINE   Travis Hedger

Travis Hedger

    Supporting Actor



  • 697 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 24 1998

Posted August 26 2006 - 01:39 PM

I have yet to peform the udpate, I will probably do it next week when I have time. Is there really an increase in the quality of sound over DD+? I will try POTO after I do it to see for myself, but wondering about others. I havent purchased or watched Training day yet so I wouldnt have a comparison.
HD DVD? Check! Blu Ray? Check! High Definition Satelite? Check! HD Gaming systems? Check! 100% High Definition across the board!
http://mrbiggles.blogspot.com

#49 of 126 OFFLINE   Jordan_E

Jordan_E

    Screenwriter



  • 2,233 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 03 2002

Posted August 26 2006 - 01:59 PM

I say POTO is more vibrant and robust during the songs. Played Constantine again, and while the surrounds seem clearer, I was not impressed as much as with POTO. Now, to check out The Perfect Storm...
And you believe, at heart, everyone's a killer...

#50 of 126 OFFLINE   Travis Hedger

Travis Hedger

    Supporting Actor



  • 697 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 24 1998

Posted August 26 2006 - 02:04 PM

Oooh, I have yet to watch my copy of Perfect Storm, didn't know it had True HD.
HD DVD? Check! Blu Ray? Check! High Definition Satelite? Check! HD Gaming systems? Check! 100% High Definition across the board!
http://mrbiggles.blogspot.com

#51 of 126 OFFLINE   Roger Mathus

Roger Mathus

    Supporting Actor



  • 557 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 01 1997
  • Real Name:Roger Mathus
  • LocationCentral Oregon

Posted August 26 2006 - 05:11 PM

Did the update and played Phantom Of The Opera. In True HD experienced many sound dropouts not noted before on this disc. I am using Theta processor. No problem with Training Day.

#52 of 126 OFFLINE   TonyD

TonyD

    Executive Producer



  • 16,240 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 01 1999
  • Real Name:Tony D.
  • LocationDisney World and Universal Florida

Posted August 27 2006 - 07:26 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Tannehill
Apparently, you pop in Phantom or Training Day, select the Dolby True HD track, and prepare to be blown away. Posted Image

- Steve
did that with phantom and , not blown anywere.

sound is lower then standard DD track.

is there a way to check player for fw ver?
facebook.com/whotony

#53 of 126 OFFLINE   Ken_F

Ken_F

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 136 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 13 1998

Posted August 27 2006 - 07:42 AM

Quote:
Did the update and played Phantom Of The Opera. In True HD experienced many sound dropouts not noted before on this disc. I am using Theta processor. No problem with Training Day.
Be sure to clean the disk / wipe off smudges.

Note again you need to use either HDMI or 5.1 analog output to experience TrueHD -- you also have to select the TrueHD 5.1 track in setup. If you are using 5.1 analog input and your receiver/amp doesn't have an analog bypass mode, then it may be degrading the audio signal with an extra A/D step.

Quote:
is there a way to check player for fw ver?

Setup -> Maintenance -> Update

Before you commit to an update the current version number will be visible on-screen.

#54 of 126 OFFLINE   TonyD

TonyD

    Executive Producer



  • 16,240 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 01 1999
  • Real Name:Tony D.
  • LocationDisney World and Universal Florida

Posted August 27 2006 - 08:11 AM

found a topic at avs with the same problem.
http://www.avsforum....ad.php?t=715813

i havent tried yet but someone says to turn of the dialog enhance on the toshiba
facebook.com/whotony

#55 of 126 OFFLINE   TonyD

TonyD

    Executive Producer



  • 16,240 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 01 1999
  • Real Name:Tony D.
  • LocationDisney World and Universal Florida

Posted August 27 2006 - 09:18 AM

uh, that workedPosted Image
facebook.com/whotony

#56 of 126 OFFLINE   Tim Glover

Tim Glover

    Lead Actor



  • 7,681 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 12 1999
  • Real Name:Tim Glover

Posted August 27 2006 - 10:11 AM

Cool Tony Posted Image

#57 of 126 OFFLINE   Harminder

Harminder

    Second Unit



  • 462 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 24 2003

Posted August 27 2006 - 04:14 PM

At first when I upgraded to v2.0, TrueHD sounded TERRIBLE to me... muted, buried surround effects, LFE was low, etc. What a damn let down, I didn't sign up for this!

However, after reading about turning "Dialog Enhancement" OFF when using TrueHD, I thought I'd give it a try. I did it and I'm now in TrueHD heaven Posted Image! TrueHD sounds awesome, it doesn't necessarily enhance the sound IMO, but brings out the finer details of the soundtrack more clearly. My ears are lovin' it!

Oh I'm using Constantine to listen to TrueHD, can't wait for End of Days Posted Image.

P.S. If you're reading this Warner, consider putting a TrueHD track on Batman Begins, The Matrix Trilogy and Terminator 3... PPPPPPLLLLLLEEEEEAAAASSSSEEEEEE! Posted Image

#58 of 126 OFFLINE   Ken_F

Ken_F

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 136 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 13 1998

Posted August 27 2006 - 04:49 PM

Quote:
P.S. If you're reading this Warner, consider putting a TrueHD track on Batman Begins, The Matrix Trilogy and Terminator 3...
Batman Begins and The Matrix are already confirmed (see first post). Cross your fingers for the others...

#59 of 126 OFFLINE   Tim Glover

Tim Glover

    Lead Actor



  • 7,681 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 12 1999
  • Real Name:Tim Glover

Posted August 27 2006 - 05:34 PM

And Superman Returns....dangit just put it on all of em. Posted Image

#60 of 126 OFFLINE   BrettGallman

BrettGallman

    Screenwriter



  • 1,392 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 11 2002

Posted August 27 2006 - 05:45 PM

Batman Begins in TrueHD will blow the roof off of many houses. It's one of the best Dolby Digital tracks I've heard on SD-DVD, so let the drooling commence...

Also, can you imagine the opening sequence from Superman Returns in TrueHD (or the entire film for that matter)?
Oh, the Horror - Horror Reviews from All Decades and All Sub-Genres!
Balls Academy -  Your Alma mater for teen films, raunchy, low-brow comedies, sexploitation & coming of age dramas.
Other recent reviews: Super | Thor Tobacco RoadSource Code | Sucker Punch |



Back to Blu-ray, DVD, LD, Tivo, Satellite and Other Playback Devices



Forum Nav Content I Follow