-

Jump to content



Photo

USB ports on PS2?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1 of 8 OFFLINE   Ike

Ike

    Screenwriter

  • 1,677 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 14 2000

Posted October 26 2001 - 07:45 AM

What do the USB ports on the PS2 do, exactly? Could, say, I hook a cable modem up to it? Would I be able to use my PC steering wheels with them?

Thanks.

#2 of 8 OFFLINE   ChrisV

ChrisV

    Second Unit

  • 484 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 25 2001

Posted October 26 2001 - 08:14 AM

Mice, keyboards, steering wheels, modems, cameras, whatever you want as long as the software supports it.

#3 of 8 OFFLINE   Morgan Jolley

Morgan Jolley

    Lead Actor

  • 8,145 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 16 2000

Posted October 26 2001 - 08:31 AM

The Logitech wheel for PC works with Gran Turismo 3 so you don't need to buy the PS2 version. Some games let you use a mouse and keyboard, so you don't need to purchase an official set. THPS3 supports USB cable modems, so you can use those.

#4 of 8 OFFLINE   Michael St. Clair

Michael St. Clair

    Producer

  • 6,009 posts
  • Join Date: May 03 1999

Posted October 26 2001 - 08:57 AM

Quote:
THPS3 supports USB cable modems, so you can use those.

No, if you have a cable modem or DSL router, you use the one you already have. THPS3 can use a USB ethernet adaptor in conjunction with this. It also can use a USB modem for direct dial. But it does not use a "USB Cable Modem".

#5 of 8 OFFLINE   Morgan Jolley

Morgan Jolley

    Lead Actor

  • 8,145 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 16 2000

Posted October 26 2001 - 11:12 AM

I meant that it can connect to a cable modem using the USB ports.

#6 of 8 OFFLINE   Michael St. Clair

Michael St. Clair

    Producer

  • 6,009 posts
  • Join Date: May 03 1999

Posted October 26 2001 - 01:22 PM

Quote:
I meant that it can connect to a cable modem using the USB ports.

Well, it can't do that either.

#7 of 8 OFFLINE   Ike

Ike

    Screenwriter

  • 1,677 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 14 2000

Posted October 27 2001 - 03:28 AM

I tried hooking up a Thrustmaster Nascar Digital Racing wheel, but it didn't recognize it. Do I have to do something in the menus, or something?

#8 of 8 OFFLINE   Morgan Jolley

Morgan Jolley

    Lead Actor

  • 8,145 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 16 2000

Posted October 27 2001 - 07:07 AM

I meant that you can use the USB ports to connect to a cable modem instead of having to buy the PS2 adapter. I'm not saying you could go directly to the modem using the USB, but you can get to it through them (however thats done, I'm not exactly trying to be specific).

What game are you using the wheel on? GT3 works with the Logitech wheel (its the GT3 PS2 wheel without the GT3 logo, AFAIK) but thats it.





Forum Nav Content I Follow