What's new

Just got the new PS2 PLUS (prog video and more). (1 Viewer)

Frank@N

Screenwriter
OK, let's agree that the PS2 isn't the best DVD player out there.

But depending on your TV size and type, you'd be hard pressed to see the difference.

Since I have a smaller interlaced WEGA with a single component video input, a convergence box works great for me.

Anyway, I've been using the PS2 as a DVD player for 2 years (never had a standalone player).

The original PS2, however, had a couple of shortcomings (noisy fan, DVD remote required use of second controller port, DVD update driver used 20% of memory card, no prog video).

At long last, *all* these shortcomings have been addressed in the new PS2 PLUS hardware revision.

These units have been available for about a week now and can be identified by the yellow + symbol in the corner of the blue retail box.

Features: fan is now whisper quiet (a huge improvement), IR port is now built-in to the unit (DVD remote still purchased separately), DVD driver 3.00U is now in firmware (finally off your memory card), and Progressive video is here.

The unit also supports DTS, but I don't recall if that was available in previous units or not.

If you are using a PS2 as a DVD player, this upgrade is *highly* recommended.

At GameStop you can currently trade in your old PS2 for $100, so the new unit will only cost you $79.

RANDY FISHER

Second Unit