What's new

Yamaha YHT-298 vs Onkyo HT-S5400 (1 Viewer)

vvmanyam

Grip
Real Name
Balu
Hi friends..
I am planning to buy one of the above two models.. when I compare these two ..
I find Onkyo has 7.1 speakers & Yamaha has 5.1 but I am fine with 5.1 system
but I am not an expert to compare the receivers.. so, can somebody help in comparing them.
Thanks,
Balu

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Well it is the Yamaha RX-V473, which is available separately.
The Onkyo uses the HT-R590, which is not available separate...but is related to the HT-RC360 minus the networking(if it were available separate...which Onkyo does, some years, offer the HTiB receivers separately...it would have been the HT-RC350). It is also last years. The new one is the 5500.
So, the essential differences...
Yamaha gets YPAO, which wins over the Aud 2EQ the Onkyo has. (YPAO however does not win if you move up the Onkyo line to a receiver with Multi-EQ)
The Yamaha also has networking (which you'd get by moving up to the 6500 Onkyo)
The Onkyo is more configurable for the day you replace the hideous speakers it came with(this "hideous" also applies to the Yamaha speakers)
Onkyo gives you DPL IIz(read up on it)
But...
It isn't fair to compare these two. The 298 should be compared against the 6500. And then it matters if the extra features the 6500 has is worth the $100.

vvmanyam

Grip
Real Name
Balu
Thanks for all your updates... just one question.. You said Onkyo can be upgraded.. But can't RX-V473 be upgraded later on with High end Speakers??

vvmanyam

Grip
Real Name
Balu
Thanks for all your updates... just one question.. You said Onkyo can be upgraded.. But can't RX-V473 be upgraded later on with High end Speakers??

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
I said "more configurable"...(and I should expound on that)...