What's new

3D Report: 3DTV Sales Rise Despite Consumer Indifference (1 Viewer)

RolandL

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Roland Lataille
The article says "revenue rose 64%". That's pretty amazing. I remember selling 55 inch 3D TV's for $3500 (that was a sale price) back in 2011. Now you can buy a 55 inch 3D TV with the same features for $1750.
As a salesman I would not promote the TV as being a 3D TV. I would find the TV with the features the customer was looking for and if it also was "3D Ready", that would be an added feature. Also, I would demonstrate 3D TV's to customers even if the TV they were interested in was not 3D. Some were blown away by how clear the 3D picture was and would pay the increase in price. Others could not see 3D, gave them a headache or made them sick to their stomach. They of course would definitely not buy it.

Matt Hough

Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Matt Hough
In the Target ad this weekend, a 50" Samsung plasma 3D TV was selling for something like $695! I couldn't believe my eyes. (Maybe I dreamed it!)

RolandL

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Roland Lataille
MattH. said:
In the Target ad this weekend, a 50" Samsung plasma 3D TV was selling for something like $695! I couldn't believe my eyes. (Maybe I dreamed it!)
There's no model number in the ad but I guessing it's the Samsung PN51E490 51 inch 720p model that's $649. Plasma's are always cheaper in price than LCD's. They are also harder to sell as a lot of people do not like the glare from the glass screen. In a room with very litte sunlight they are fine.

Gary Seven

Grand Poo Pah
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gaston
Sales rose because the majority of good TVs are 3D TVs. The article said only 16% of those polled were actually looking for a 3D TV. When I purchase a new TV, it will be 3D, not because I want it but because the better performing 2D TVs are 3D TVs.

EdReedFan20

Stunt Coordinator