"zzn.com"

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by alan halvorson, Apr 15, 2002.

1. alan halvorson

alan halvorson Cinematographer

Recently I sold an LD on Ebay. The bidder, who said he was from Australia, never paid despite a couple e-mails claiming payment was on the way. I relisted the item and again it sold to a bidder in Australia (for nearly the same price). The second bidder has given me his name and address and requested that I accept a wire transfer. I have no experience with wire transfers but I understand that because it's a direct deposit into my bank account, I would have to tell the winning bidder my bank account # - which I won't do. I so informed him and relisted my payment options. I haven't heard back but it's still too early to say something's fishy.

Today, out of the blue, I received an e-mail from someone asking if my winning bidder had contacted me. He also said the the e-mail the bidder used, ending in "zzn.com", was a free e-mail often used by scammers. My first bidder also used an e-mail with that ended with "zzn.com". The first bidder had only one feedback and the other none. The first is now suspended.

So it looks like I maybe avoided a disaster. Anyone know anything about this "zzn.com"? How do wire transfers work? Could they work in reverse? In other words, had I agreed to a wire transfer, could the bidder have made a withdrawal instead?

2. Jay H

Jay H Producer

Jay
    No, I don't really know about wire transfers, except I did receive an internation wire transfer from the CEO of my company (we're UK based) for my AIDS ride that I did last year, it was $400 and I was charged a $10 service fee because of it, so you might want to find out from your bank if you will be charged if you receive money via a wire transfer. I'm sure it depends on what kind of account you have with your bank so not everybody might be charged.