You've got $300-500 to spend on a T.V. what do you do?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Eric Walsh, May 30, 2002.

1. Eric Walsh

Eric Walsh Stunt Coordinator

I know my range is low and I can not get much within it but I was just wondering what the best was to be had in that range of $300 to $500. I would use it mostly for DVD viewing if that is of any importance. I am new to the T.V. purchasing world so any help on this matter would be great. Thanks in advance.

-Eric

2. Blake Hoffmann

Blake Hoffmann Auditioning

I understand that's a range your giving me
    But I'll throw it out there anyways:
    http://www.bestbuy.com/Detail.asp?m...cat=&e=11100124
    Panasonic Tau 27"
    I have a wega 27", the best one me thinks, and I prefer my friend's tau in terms of image quality. Extra's over it would be a headphone jack, a much cleaner audio output, and IMO a better system all arround.
    It's a big jump from your 13", but 27" really is the sweetspot for DVD. And for non-hdtv 27", that's a great tube.
    If you would like a cheaper suggestion, or needed something else in your budget let me know.

3. Phil Cavanagh

I would recommend the Sony 27" Wega, model KV27FS13.

I personally look at the Panasonic and the Sony flat screens side by side almost everyday. In my personal opinion the color of the Panasonic's are way too rich, especially the reds(this is a problem on nearly all of there tube tv's including the HD moniters). I have played with the picture controls on the Panasonics repeatedly and could not get much of an improvement in color. 95% of my customers looking at these tv's prefer the Sony as well.

Ultimately it is your decision...buy what looks good to you. If you go to Circuit City, most of there stores have these two televisions side by side.
    My money is one the Sony if you go with a flat screen.

4. BobJ

BobJ Stunt Coordinator