What's new

Your thoughts on receiver as preamp/processor (1 Viewer)

SteveJKo

Second Unit
Hello everyone,

I’m looking for advice and opinions from people who’ve used an a/v receiver as a preamp/processor. In the mid ‘90’s I purchased a setup (pre-pro and 5 channel amp) from a company named Chiro. After a decade of enjoyment the amp suddenly died (taking the left front speaker with it). I replaced the amp with a Rotel rmb-1095. Well here it is nine years later and I’d love to be hearing my blu-rays in DTS Master Audio and Dolby True HD, but I’d rather not pay $2100 for a matching Rotel pre-pro. I’ve heard (from friends) good things about using a Marantz receiver as a preamp, and I’ve seen good prices on the internet for the SR5007, but I have no personal experience with Marantz equipment at all. I’d like your thoughts. I’m currently using Definitive Technology speakers in a 5.1 arrangement. The Chiro pre-pro has no digital decoding whatsoever, that’s accomplished by two late ‘90’s Rotel DTS and Dolby Digital decoders. The system is used about twice as often for movies as it is for two channel listening of cd’s. Your thoughts are very much appreciated.

Steve

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Marantz is "Denon in a dress". Meant literally and figuratively.

I use an Onkyo SR707 with a Kenwood M2A firing the front channel. Truth be told...blind listening I doubt you could tell a difference between your old Pre-Pro, the 5007 or my 707...on the same connection/content.

IF you want a dedicated Pre-Pro, and all your sources are HDMI/Analog(you'll see what I mean)...look here...

http://shop.emotiva.com/collections/processors/products/umc200

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene