Your Opinion for a rookie

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Lyle_E, Nov 21, 2003.

1. Lyle_E

Lyle_E Stunt Coordinator

Hello, and greetings. I just want to start out by saying "after poking around here for a few days and seeing photos of some of the systems, Day-ummmmmm Nice set-ups you folks have!"

I am curious as to how well I did when I purchased my toddler home theatre system? I am a rookie when it comes to all this. It sounds really good in the 16 x 10 room I have it in. I have just cut a hole in my wall to push the tv back and added a step up to the couch. I am getting ready to add a door to the room for isolation from the rest of the house. Most of the remodeling is done on a cheap guy shoestring budget.

I am looking to add some panels to help with sound reflection. < any advice on low budget solutions for sound deadening?

Opions on my equipment?
    I purchased a hitachi 43" 16 x 9 HDTV
    Onkyo HT-R490 Home theatre system (5.1 DD and DTS)
    Onkyo DV-S393 DVD player
    Klipsch 10" Powered sub

Ill get some photos for anyone who would like to take a gander (even though the choice of wall color was a wee bit off)

2. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Wayne
    Welcome to the Forum, Lyle!

Congrats on getting one of the better pre-packaged systems that required a separate DVD player. Much better than the everything-in-on-box systems. And it was a smart move to get the Klipsch sub – always an improvement on any sub that comes in a pre-packaged system. A 10-incher is a little small for HT, but since your room is small you’ll probably be okay (unless it opens up to other areas).

I wouldn’t worry about the acoustical treatments. Acoustics generally aren’t a big concern in a small room. Things like wall-to-wall carpeting, furniture etc. provide adequate dampening, and other fixtures like wall pictures, bookshelves etc. provide dispersion. Just kick back and enjoy your system!

Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt

3. Lyle_E

Lyle_E Stunt Coordinator